Garmin GPS is not compatible with linux is there a loop?

linu89waltzodi

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Credits
50
I haven't updated my GPS for awhile. I went to their website they only have for mac or windows. Is there a loop?
 


darry1966

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
561
Reaction score
451
Credits
3,284
Yes would love an answer to this - Always had to use Windows..
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,418
Reaction score
3,885
Credits
24,588
I believe the only way around this to run the Garmin software via Wine.

Whether it will run in Wine, is beyond my knowledge. I was going to buy a Garmin at one stage, but decided to simply use my iPhone and either google maps or Waze.
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,418
Reaction score
3,885
Credits
24,588
Wine can be used on either ubuntu or linux mint....it doesnt matter which one you have.

 
OP
L

linu89waltzodi

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Credits
50

darry1966

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
561
Reaction score
451
Credits
3,284
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,418
Reaction score
3,885
Credits
24,588
After all my looking at Garmins etc etc....I really did give google maps and ‘Waze’ a strong workout....I was determined to try and “break” them.
In the case of Waze I was successful.....it chucked in the towel.....failed to proceed.
Google maps continued to work, however I was not impressed. It was quite slow in adapting to changing situations, and did not really give
clear directions when it was really necessary.
Then.....Waze spat out a major update. Wow!....Brilliant.
It ticks all the boxes which google maps missed out on and it “talks” to me via hearing aids. I cannot fault it. It is, of course, free.
 
OP
L

linu89waltzodi

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Credits
50
Garmin does not run in WINE unfortunately - the only way I have found is to put Windows in a VM and update the Garmin that way or use OpenMapChest
Just uploaded on my garmin from OpenMapChest seems pretty well I will test it out tomorrow. Thanks.
 

Billtour

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
40
Reaction score
15
Credits
355
Is OpenMapChest likely to work with my Garmin Nuvi 55 LM? If so, what do I need to do to make it work?
 

Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
1,530
Reaction score
1,002
Credits
11,343
Is OpenMapChest likely to work with my Garmin Nuvi 55 LM? If so, what do I need to do to make it work?
Mine is a Nuvi 50 and OpenMapChest work just fine - just go to - https://www.openmapchest.org/ to download what you want and they have instructions there to show you how to install the map data
 

ML_113

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2022
Messages
14
Reaction score
5
Credits
87
I use Waze to replace my Nuvi 44, but ... my Dakota needs some work around!
Solution : Windows 7, Virtualbox and ... Google Maps.
I install Garmin Trip and Waypoint Manager into Win 7 VM, Create Waypoints with coordinates from Google Maps, send them to the GPS and the trick is done.
The map is old but when navigating with Waypoints in the jungle or when walking in a foreign places, that is not much important.
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Staff online

Members online


Latest posts

Top