Formatting external USB drives

J

Jay S

Hello Everyone,
My start with Linux has begun to gather some steam! I've loaded LXLE on an older netbook and it seems to be fairly intuitive, though I'm just scratching the surface.

I've also loaded Raspbian on a PI 2 and have configured an older USB printer into a wireless networked device! That only took a decent part of two days... ;-} So far I've loaded and configured CUPS and SAMBA to manage the print server, configured the wireless to have a static IP address, loaded SSH and Putty for remote access and made so many mistakes along the way to confirm I'm a better nurse than system administrator!

My next goal is to add a pair of 2TB external USB drives to the network to eventually handle the duties of 1) a file server, 2) a DLNA server, and 3) an automated backup server (in this order).

Our household has (as many do) a combination of Linux, Windows and Apple devices, including laptops, tablets and phones. My question is this...which file system should I install on these drives to be able to support our home network? Through my reading, it seems that ExFAT is the best choice.

Thanks for the suggestions,
Jay

Enjoy the ride!

Hello,

Let's see,

Ext2/3 both are available across all (almost all) operating systems as installable file systems. Both are reliable and support big drives and files. Not sure about smartphones and tablets though.

ZFS design is more suitable for flash memory (than ext), but operating system support is less impressive. There are problems to include support to the kernel, third-party module exists. It can be accessed using FUSE though.

Thus, ExFat will be probably the best variant so far because it is supported on almost everything you need and is designed to work on flash drives.

My 0.02