First time building a Linux desktop, hardware selection

Nightpoison

So as the title says, this is my first time building a Linux desktop. I've built about a dozen windows build over the years, but this will be my first Linux specific build. Im repurposing my brothers gaming PC, that he just upgraded. My question is geared more towards what I should replace and what parts should I keep for this initial build. I'll be replacing and adding parts over the next year or two anyway, as I'll be looking use the build in the future for deep learning development. For now it will be used for general PC use, some personal software development, and lite media services; Plex, podcast editing, video editing.

I know Linux certification isn't really a thing. I would rather order parts now if I need to swap something out. Honestly, as far as I can tell the motherboard is the one piece I'm most worried about. Anything I should dump and replace?

AMD FX-8350
Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2 motherboard
16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3
Asus Radeon HD 7850
750w Thermaltake Smart series fully modular
LG disc drive
Four 200mm NZXT fans
Two 140mm NZXT fans

Nik-Ken-Bah

G'day @Nightpoison and welcome to the community.
With the ASUS motherboard what NIC/ethernet adaptor does it have have?
Is it Realtek or Intel?
I ask this as I have found through personal experience that Realtek is a bit iffy when it comes to drivers but I have since learnt that Intel creates drivers specifically for Linux. But there again my motherboard is about 5 years old and that maybe my trouble.
Others such as @wizardfromoz @Condobloke @arochester and others will have a better idea about the question you posed.

Nightpoison

@Nik-Ken-Bah Hello, thanks for the welcome and insight. Yea it seems the NIC/ethernet adapter is the common thing I keep hearing about.

As far as which adapter that it has. I think from my research is a realtek adapter. It seems to be referenced often, but no direct documentation that I can find.