Fighting wifi

AVTechGuy

Reaction score
Credits
Hello all
Im fairly new to Linux, (PC tech for years)
I have several systems running Linux, run fine with cable ether
but have been fighting with USB WiFi adapter drivers
for the realtek usb dongles (rtl8811)
cant seem to find the right info on the net that works
I have the driver cd but have not been able to understand
all of the codes involved for installing the drivers

I have a thumb drive with lubuntu that works fine with
the built in wifi on many laptops, but does not work
with the desktops with the realtek dongle

Is there a wifi dongle that is recommended that is easier
to deal with for Linux machines?

I think those wifi adaters with are available for older rasoberry pi’s could work, because they are also Linux-systems.

G'day @AVTechGuy and (hey, Peer ... where's your manners? :D:D) Welcome to linux.org :)

I take it as a given you have Windows or some other means of communicating with us, or are you hooked in via Ethernet?

I have several systems running Linux, run fine with cable ether

Just define that a little more. Which Linux Distros and is/are any running wifi?

cant seem to find the right info on the net that works

... give us a broad idea of some of the searches (keywords) you have performed and the sites visited, perhaps from your History?

I have the driver cd but have not been able to understand
all of the codes involved for installing the drivers

Maybe you can give us some of that info?

I have a thumb drive with lubuntu that works fine with
the built in wifi on many laptops, but does not work
with the desktops with the realtek dongle

many laptops - does it not work with some? Which ones?

You can likely see where I am headed with this.

1. Structure for yourself a wish list or priority list of which system you most want to get the Lubuntu/dongle combination running on.
  2. Run at Terminal
    Code:
    inxi -Fxz
    and give us the output, so we can see the specs