Easy to Change Between Linux Distros & How is Diamond II BKDE???

G

gudziel

Hi all. I'm new to Linux and just starting out. I downloaded and installed Ubuntu onto my external HD on my current rig that was using for Windows 7 Ultimate, for dual boot purposes. I can already say that I like Linux a lot just from initial playing and tinkering that I have been doing.

But I'm not all that impressed with Ubuntu after looking over other Distros (I have my eyes set on Diamond II BKDE). I've read that most Distros are built in such a way that it makes it easy to switch between them without having to worry about loss of information. Is this true? I'm used to creating more than one partition when installing Windows as I know how unstable and vulnerable it can be. So I normally have my Windows OS installed on a separate partition from all of the system programs for easy wipe and installs. Will I need to wipe the Linux partition as I have not purposefully placed software downloads into a separate partition?

Also, even though I'm new to Linux I'm starting to get into a bit of programming for work for products that are Linux based. Which Distro would I be more interested in? I like to play around and tinker with things and wish to have a lot of versatility/flexibility in the OS. Diamond II BKDE appears to be something that may fit me, but I'm unsure. Any suggestions?

Thank you all and I'm already loving Linux. I can honestly say I will try to avoid Windows like the plague. Luckily, I'm also going to install it onto my work computer.

I've read that most Distros are built in such a way that it makes it easy to switch between them without having to worry about loss of information. Is this true?