Dual boot mess.

Greentea

Reaction score
Credits
I'm very new to Linux but want to switch to it from Windows for all the usual reasons.

I wanted to install Linux along with Win7 so I created a new drive partition - D. When installing, I was presented with the option to install 'Alongside Windows', thinking it would install to the D partition. Of course, it installed literally along side, on the C drive.

It may not make a huge difference but I really wanted it to go into the D partition and be separate. Since the install, my Windows 7 has lost all its sound and the clock is all screwed up. I'm not sure what else.

Since I cannot delete the Linux install in the usual way, by deleting its partition, how then do I delete it? After that, how do I correctly install to the D partition?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

... and a nicer thing couldn't happen to Windozey ... naahh, I'm only kidding :rolleyes: (Australian wicked sense of humour)

(Wizard appears in a puff of smoke, fire crew arrive and drench him with their fire hose)

Welcome to linux.org @Greentea , albeit under extenuating circumstances. :)

My Windows expertise (if I ever had any, after 25 years of it) is somewhat rusty, as I had my epithany of blowing away Windows 7 and going totally Linux nearly 4 years ago. But the Windows cavalry will likely be on hand before long, and you will be in safe hands, rest assured :p

Meanwhile, I'll ask you a few questions and make a few observations which will help both you and those whom will follow me. OK?

OBSERVATION/S

1. Vitally important is to safeguard any personal or important data you have on your Windows install, if you have not already done so ... to external storage is best, even if it means a 64 GB USB stick/pendrive or whatever.