Dual Boot Error - Windows 8 and Ubuntu

manover

Reaction score
Credits
I installed latest version of Ubuntu on my surface pro 3 running Windows 8. I am new to Linux so I. wanted to start learning a new OS.

I followed instructions online, created the correct partitions, and Ubuntu was installed successfully. The problem is I can't load Windows 8 anymore. I am downloading the Windows 8 iso file now, but before it finishes I would like to see if anyone can review the pastebin link to verify what's happened.

http://paste.ubuntu.com/25817079/

Thanks!

Slow down... hold off reinstalling from that Windows .iso file... you probably don't need to do that.

Is Ubuntu still booting okay?

I also tried this from terminal in Ubuntu:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:yannubuntu/boot-repair && sudo apt-get update

and

sudo apt-get install -y boot-repair && (boot-repair &)

but got an error also. I'll try again and post the error.

This is the error after trying boot-repair in Ubuntu

sjdJhOb.png

sudo apt-get install -y boot-repair && (boot-repair &)

Those ( ) and final & should not be there. But if it installed properly, you should be able to open a terminal and just type:

Code:
boot-repair

And it should run if its installed. If it says, "file not found" or "command not found".... then do over:

Code:
sudo apt-get install -y boot-repair && boot-repair

That will both install it, and launch it after its installed. I don't think we need another pastebin, but you can try again to see if it fixes the boot error. If not, we'll move on from there.

Those ( ) and final & should not be there. But if it installed properly, you should be able to open a terminal and just type:

Code:
boot-repair

And it should run if its installed. If it says, "file not found" or "command not found".... then do over:

Code:
sudo apt-get install -y boot-repair && boot-repair