Does Linux play well on AMD chips

dos2unix

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 3, 2019
Messages
2,221
Reaction score
1,861
Credits
16,648


dos2unix

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 3, 2019
Messages
2,221
Reaction score
1,861
Credits
16,648

dos2unix

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 3, 2019
Messages
2,221
Reaction score
1,861
Credits
16,648

MR T

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2023
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Credits
32
I have lots of issues:
I can't seem to update the ASUS MOBO
the graphics rendering on my desktop shifts the icons from given position to a stacked in the corner after a few hours of being on

not sure why

I amusing LM 21.2 with kernel 6.5

System:
Kernel: 6.5.0-1007-oem x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: N/A Desktop: Cinnamon 5.8.4 tk: GTK 3.24.33
wm: muffin dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 21.2 Victoria base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
Type: Desktop System: ASUS product: N/A v: N/A serial: <superuser required>
Mobo: ASUSTeK model: TUF GAMING B650M-PLUS WIFI v: Rev 1.xx serial: <superuser required>
UEFI: American Megatrends v: 1222 date: 02/24/2023
Battery:
Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech M720 Triathlon Multi-Device Mouse serial: <filter>
charge: 55% (should be ignored) status: Discharging
CPU:
Info: 8-core model: AMD Ryzen 7 7700X bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen 3 rev: 2 cache:
L1: 512 KiB L2: 8 MiB L3: 32 MiB
Speed (MHz): avg: 2721 high: 5339 min/max: 400/5573 cores: 1: 400 2: 3967 3: 4321 4: 4711
5: 400 6: 4821 7: 400 8: 400 9: 3569 10: 5141 11: 5339 12: 400 13: 400 14: 400 15: 5308 16: 3559
bogomips: 143724
Flags: avx avx2 ht lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm
Graphics:
Device-1: AMD Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600/6600 XT/6600M] vendor: XFX driver: amdgpu v: kernel pcie:
speed: 16 GT/s lanes: 16 ports: active: HDMI-A-1 empty: DP-1,DP-2,DP-3 bus-ID: 03:00.0
chip-ID: 1002:73ff
Device-2: AMD vendor: ASUSTeK driver: amdgpu v: kernel pcie: speed: 16 GT/s lanes: 16 ports:
active: none empty: DP-4,HDMI-A-2 bus-ID: 0d:00.0 chip-ID: 1002:164e
Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.21.1.4 driver: X: loaded: amdgpu,ati
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,radeon,vesa gpu: amdgpu display-ID: :0 screens: 1
Screen-1: 0 s-res: 3840x2160 s-dpi: 96
Monitor-1: HDMI-A-0 mapped: HDMI-A-1 model: LG (GoldStar) Ultra HD res: 3840x2160 dpi: 163
diag: 690mm (27.2")
OpenGL: renderer: AMD Radeon RX 6600 (navi23 LLVM 15.0.7 DRM 3.54 6.5.0-1007-oem)
v: 4.6 Mesa 23.0.4-0ubuntu1~22.04.1 direct render: Yes
 

Crippled2013

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2023
Messages
9
Reaction score
3
Credits
79
AMD works great with Linux. As for HP, my personal experience I find their desktop computers to be good, but their laptop computers are throwaways because good luck trying to open it to replace a failed drive. I recommend you go with an Acer or a Dell laptop.
 

Crippled2013

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2023
Messages
9
Reaction score
3
Credits
79
I have lots of issues:
I can't seem to update the ASUS MOBO
the graphics rendering on my desktop shifts the icons from given position to a stacked in the corner after a few hours of being on

not sure why

I amusing LM 21.2 with kernel 6.5

System:
Kernel: 6.5.0-1007-oem x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: N/A Desktop: Cinnamon 5.8.4 tk: GTK 3.24.33
wm: muffin dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 21.2 Victoria base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
Type: Desktop System: ASUS product: N/A v: N/A serial: <superuser required>
Mobo: ASUSTeK model: TUF GAMING B650M-PLUS WIFI v: Rev 1.xx serial: <superuser required>
UEFI: American Megatrends v: 1222 date: 02/24/2023
Battery:
Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech M720 Triathlon Multi-Device Mouse serial: <filter>
charge: 55% (should be ignored) status: Discharging
CPU:
Info: 8-core model: AMD Ryzen 7 7700X bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen 3 rev: 2 cache:
L1: 512 KiB L2: 8 MiB L3: 32 MiB
Speed (MHz): avg: 2721 high: 5339 min/max: 400/5573 cores: 1: 400 2: 3967 3: 4321 4: 4711
5: 400 6: 4821 7: 400 8: 400 9: 3569 10: 5141 11: 5339 12: 400 13: 400 14: 400 15: 5308 16: 3559
bogomips: 143724
Flags: avx avx2 ht lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm
Graphics:
Device-1: AMD Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600/6600 XT/6600M] vendor: XFX driver: amdgpu v: kernel pcie:
speed: 16 GT/s lanes: 16 ports: active: HDMI-A-1 empty: DP-1,DP-2,DP-3 bus-ID: 03:00.0
chip-ID: 1002:73ff
Device-2: AMD vendor: ASUSTeK driver: amdgpu v: kernel pcie: speed: 16 GT/s lanes: 16 ports:
active: none empty: DP-4,HDMI-A-2 bus-ID: 0d:00.0 chip-ID: 1002:164e
Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.21.1.4 driver: X: loaded: amdgpu,ati
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,radeon,vesa gpu: amdgpu display-ID: :0 screens: 1
Screen-1: 0 s-res: 3840x2160 s-dpi: 96
Monitor-1: HDMI-A-0 mapped: HDMI-A-1 model: LG (GoldStar) Ultra HD res: 3840x2160 dpi: 163
diag: 690mm (27.2")
OpenGL: renderer: AMD Radeon RX 6600 (navi23 LLVM 15.0.7 DRM 3.54 6.5.0-1007-oem)
v: 4.6 Mesa 23.0.4-0ubuntu1~22.04.1 direct render: Yes
I use to use ASUS motherboards in my computer builds but not anymore. ASUS quality is not what it use to be in my own personal experience as my 3rd computer I built I chose an ASUS motherboard that ASUS lied that it had RAID which it didn't and after 11 months of use I started having kernel panics which I found out the reason for the kernel panics 2 months later which was after the warranty ran out when the motherboard failed because the computer wouldn't boot up anymore. Replace your motherboard with a Gigabyte and what ever you do, don't replace it with a MSI motherboard because they last only 2 months if your lucky. First MSI wouldn't boot and went on fire, 2nd one failed after 2 months.
 

Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
5,281
Reaction score
3,527
Credits
39,130

MikeWalsh

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2022
Messages
683
Reaction score
835
Credits
8,963
Replace your motherboard with a Gigabyte and what ever you do, don't replace it with a MSI motherboard because they last only 2 months if your lucky.
Heh. Interesting observation.....

My ancient Compaq desktop rig, when it finally expired in January 2020, was getting on for around 16 yrs old. And guess what the mobo was..?

Yup, that's right. MSI.....and the only reason it "coughed" was due to the caps - all Rubicon/Nichicon, BTW - finally drying-out.

It lasted well. Ya couldn't complain...


Mike. ;)
 


Latest posts

Top