Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd, 2017 please sign up again. Thanks!

  1. Follow us on twitter - we shoot all of our new original content out as well as random messages. https://twitter.com/linuxdotorg
    Dismiss Notice

dist-upgrade broke GRUB... I think?

Discussion in 'General Server' started by jediwombat, Dec 11, 2018.

  1. jediwombat

    jediwombat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hey Wizard,

    Thanks for the link, and apologies for the delayed reply. Life gets busy sometimes, eh? Anyway, I attempted to install grub onto the RAID, as that last link seems to suggest, but no dice, unfortunately. I've attached my commands run and their output, for reference, and the output of the boot-repair tool's "Boot info" option.

    Hopefully something there gives you a clue. I'm close to whacking a standalone drive in to install a new OS onto, and boot off, and then just mounting the RAID off my existing drives in that new OS.

    Thanks for all your help so far, mate.


    (Log in to hide this advertisement)


    Cheers,
    Benjamin.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    I'll say :) haven't forgotten you mate, found a couple of links and I'll be back with more tomorrow.

    Chris
     
  3. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    Benjamin

    Search parameters I used were

    grub-install: warning: Couldn't find physical volume `(null)'. Some modules may be missing from core image..

    To my untrained eye, this one looked promising

    https://www.claudiokuenzler.com/blog/688/grub-grub2-install-warning-couldnt-find-physical-volume

    You bootinfo xxx.txt is good but beyond my ability to track through. I'll ping a couple of people again.

    @JasKinasis , @Lazydog , @mal-2 - folks, OP has RAID on GPT disks with an MBR / - can you assist?

    I can only guess :(

    If you go offsite and get an answer, can you bring it back so we can add it to our Wiki?

    Sorry can't help more.

    Chris
     
  4. Lazydog

    Lazydog Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    65
    What does your grub.cfg file look like? What type of RAID are you running? I would not mix GTP and MBR in fact I don't think you can.
     
  5. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    GPT.

    Thanks for coming on board, Robert, I have been struggling with this :)

    Wiz
     
  6. Lazydog

    Lazydog Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    65
    I try to help where I can when I can. This is how we learn. ;)
     
  7. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    Hi all :)

    My highlighting.

    Benjamin, can you clarify for Robert and others (hopefully) - had you had the system running successfully for a period of time prior to the attempt to update/upgrade?

    Cheers

    Wiz
     
  8. jediwombat

    jediwombat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hey guys, thanks for coming in.

    The system was live and working, yes. It's been a media server and other things for about a year.

    I realised that I had a degraded RAID array - this hasn't happened to me before, and this is my first RAID, so I didn't see the "activated with 3 of 4 devices" as a sign that there was a problem. My RAID is rebuilding now, and I'll come back with the state I'm in once that's done :)
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  9. jediwombat

    jediwombat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    So! My RAID rebuilt, and... the system booted! Success!
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  10. jediwombat

    jediwombat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    For anyone that finds this thread in future, all I did was this:

    1. Work out which partitions are supposed to be part of your RAID. I did this with # cat /proc/partitions, and looking at which partitions were my 2.9TB ones. For me, this was sda2, sdb2, sdd2, and sde2. sdc was my boot USB.
    2. Work out which partitions are currently in the RAID, and which aren't, by running # cat /proc/mdstat. On the line starting with "md0", I saw that sdd2 was missing.
    3. Re-add the missing drive to the array: # mdadm /dev/md0 -a /dev/sdd2. The array will automatically start rebuilding itself.
    4. Watch the re-build progress: # watch -n2 cat /proc/mdstat

    The rebuild shows you its ETA under "finish=". For me, this started around 170,000 minutes, but it completed in about 20 minutes. I think it's a bit like the Windows file copy dialog:
    https://xkcd.com/612/

    Once the rebuild was complete, I did a clean shutdown, removed the USB, and booted back into my real OS.

    Cheers,
    Benjamin.
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  11. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    WOW :), I follow a bit of that. I will bookmark this Thread for when I need it.

    Regrets it took so long, thanks for your patience, and for sharing.

    Cheers

    Chris
     

Share This Page