Darn. Succeeded in reformatting the usb and installing Zorin lite, but it is still acting up (SOLVED)

heretical_1

Reaction score
Credits
I put Zorin core onto my puter this weekend, and it wouldn't scroll properly, takes a long time to load anything, and typing is a nightmare. Cursor moves haltingly, causing misspelled words, missed letters, and long wait times for it to catch up to what I have typed. Cannot find any info on the internet on how to solve this problem. But hey, at least I know how to reformat the usb and try again if necessary! Any help would be appreciated, and thank you in advance. Also, I am a newbie and not tech oriented. That will change as I get the opportunity to start reading some primers on linux, but for now take it easy on my with the tech-talk or terminal commands if possible. :)

I'm not sure if what you are describing is a bug in Zorin or it's your PC having performance issues.

Did you have these issues before installing Linux?

Not at all. I was using Zorin 14, loved it. Then somebody decided that they were going to get cute and "upgrade" something that I use, forcing me to then have to "upgrade" to Zorin 15. Instantly, the problems started.

Sometimes upgrades don't go well.
A fresh install should have solved that I'd think.

When I have more time I will see if there is a solution..., it's late.

I can try re-installing it again tomorrow night. Wondering if I should try the option to "install zorin and also modern nvidia"? I tried it once, and it gave me an error message, so I just "installed Zorin".

I can try re-installing it again tomorrow night. Wondering if I should try the option to "install zorin and also modern nvidia"? I tried it once, and it gave me an error message, so I just "installed Zorin".
By all means if you have a Nvidia GPU install modern Nvidia.:)

at the moment I have no clue exactly how to determine that, not used to the screens here, but will keep looking.

Open the terminal and run this...
lspci l grep -i VGA