Considering Linux

M

mikehinkle

Always ran XP Pro on all my systems, bought a broken Dell Inspiron n411z, fixed it and have had it running windows 7 ultimate. Since downgrading to XP is out the window I have dual booted mac osx (biggest hassle ever), and windows 8, neither of which I liked very much and am now considering trying Linux.

I wouldn't say I am a pro with computers but I know enough to navigate around. Just need help determining with my computer specifications the best version to run.

Just want something smooth running, good performance. All I really do with the pc is browse the web, burn dvds, use it to root and install custom roms on phones, videos, java based gaming. I appreciate all info, all computer specifics are located in the attached photos. Thanks!

Attachments

• 1.png
    1.png
    126.1 KB · Views: 1,336
  • 2.png
    2.png
    116.9 KB · Views: 1,056
  • 3.png
    3.png
    123.5 KB · Views: 1,252
  • 4.png
    4.png
    580.8 KB · Views: 1,395
  • 5.png
    5.png
    480.4 KB · Views: 1,277

The desktop environment is what uses the most system resources. A light desktop environment gives the best performance. So any Linux distribution that uses a light DE will be nice. These DEs may be LXDE (Light X desktop environment), XFCE, razor-qt, E11 (enlightenment), and window managers only. So depending on what your taste in graphics is any of those will work. Some distributions of Linux that have these light environments include LUbuntu, XUbuntu, Slackware, Voyager, Enlightenment Linux(Luna), Arch (must build yourself, but very rewarding), Ultimate Edition 3.4 light, and maybe #! (crunch bang). There are MANY more available but these systems give the best performance. But be warned that these systems do not always provide much eye candy, if that is something you are looking for.