Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd please sign up again. Thanks!

  1. Get $5 off your first Lyft ride while helping us pay for hosting Linux.org! --> $5 Lyft
    Dismiss Notice

Compatibility

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by harbottleaudio, Nov 12, 2017 at 7:17 AM.

  1. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    386
    Yes you did! :D


     
  2. harbottleaudio

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    27
  3. harbottleaudio

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    27
    Here is what I'm seeing.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. harbottleaudio

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    27
    mine doesnt have anything in the "Installed Version" column. o_O
     
  5. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    386
  6. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    386
    Yep, that's what we're looking to see (and try to understand). Perhaps it is not showing any installed because the one you flashed is already newer than the one that is available in Synaptic. Let's see how Wizard wants to proceed from this point because I'm a little nervous to direct any further. This got us to where he left off anyway.

    But... you may want to leave it running if it isn't a bother to you. Everything you've done to install Synaptic will be lost if you shut if off, and I don't know if he will want you to try installing those microcode options or not.

    Just like yesterday, though, the thing is working... it is running Ubuntu, apparently just fine unless you have other complaints about it. If it can run off the USB, then it can run off the hard drive too. It's getting down to the nitty-gritty of figuring out the failure when it installs... which so far has pointed to the microcode.

    Quite an education for us all! :eek::confused::D
     
    harbottleaudio likes this.
  7. harbottleaudio

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    27
    I can't belive how rewarding this is! :):):D.
    I'm so pumped to get this rolling and find someone who wants to help me with my media player/system idea! :D:eek: I even have a speaker and amp in r&d to beta test. What kinda luck is that! ?!:cool:
     
    atanere likes this.
  8. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    386
    Can you plug in the R&D setup now while it's running in live mode? It shouldn't be any different than the bare-metal install, just a bit slower. Though if you need to install any other apps, it's the same as with Synaptic.... they won't survive a reboot.

    Just curious too... are you on DVD now? And the USB is or is not working?
     
  9. harbottleaudio

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    27
    Actually the r&d is a bunch of parts right now. We are developing the molds for casting the carbon fiber boxes. It's one to two piece carbon fiber box with a core material. The goal is to remove as much shipping cost as possible and maintain enclose stiffness with multiple density laminate to kill off vibrations. It's very ambitious but I think most ppl can appreciate saving shipping money and increasing sound quality.
    The amp on the other hand is a tough nut to crack; just lots going on in trying to keep ahead of the curve.
     
  10. harbottleaudio

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    27
    On DVD. USB not working at all.
     
  11. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    386
    Okay, I thought that was the case. We'll try to repair the USB when you've got a solid Linux system running. It takes some fiddling around sometimes though... more geeky command line stuff... and it may or may not fix it.

    Wizard will probably be waking up soon, but never mess with a wizard until he's had his coffee! :D
     
  12. harbottleaudio

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    27
    Ummmm. So I have a woops to report.
    You know the acronym RTFM? Any way, see picture. I'm wondering if the usb crazyness was because of the chipset limitations.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    386
    I don't think this was a problem. Didn't the USB work okay in the beginning? If it did, then it probably got hosed up by burning later Linux editions to it.

    The manual describes a workaround for installing Windows 7 from an external DVD (optical) drive, if I'm reading it right. I've ran into issues with that in the past... Win 7 didn't have the drivers built-in to recognize USB 3.0 ports... so you often had to install to a USB 2.0 port when using an external (USB) DVD drive.
     
  14. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    313
    Morning all, I am playing catchup, reading. Crikey, I love it when I go catch 9 hrs of zzz's and you guys have made excellent progress, especially you, Cody :p

    Stan should blush too, he is a good man. :);)

    Here is a pic, compare it to mine of #51 page 3 https://www.linux.org/threads/compatibility.14605/page-3#post-47830

    [​IMG]

    ... and you can see, Cody by highlighting the entry for iucode-tool the lower pane gives me some info.

    I just have to burn a stick on another computer and will be back soon.

    But briefly:

    • The fact that the DVD is working is excellent reinforcement that nothing is hosed and that progress is being made.
    • CON is that any changes made to the DVD will be lost on reboot and have to be repeated, but
    • I would be inclined to jump in and try to install from the DVD
    If you have the time and patience, I have a lot more, but have to try a couple of things myself first. Doesn't matter if I break a Distro, I have 60 more.

    Back soon but I'll stay live.

    Wiz
     
    atanere likes this.
  15. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    386
    Ah, a re-install from the DVD instead... that's certainly a good thought, Wizard! I have heard of a few cases where that might work where a USB install doesn't.

    Wanna give it a shot, Cody?

    I'll be in and out following along too as I take care of some chores here.
     
  16. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    313
    Me again, just stirring my cauldron and adding eye of newt :eek:

    I'm on a live stick now, hope being logged in at two points doesn't send Admin @Rob into conniptions?

    I've added the Universe Repo and installed SPM, and the microcode et al are in it as Cody sees them.

    The difference between my two screenshots is that the first one shows the two packages as being installed (the green filled checkbox at left) whereas Cody's doesn't. The little orange-red Ubuntu icons simply mean the package is supported.

    Good thing about Cody's DVD is that it can't be borked as easily as a USB, and so it is well worth trying an install from it, might just need to tweak his BIOS to allow to boot from DVD.

    Meantime , I am going to have a little play with chroot-ing between the stick and one or both of my computers that have 16.04 Unity on them. Cody, I'll explain about chroot if we need to check that avenue, but hopefully we won't have to go so far.

    I am glad you are keen to learn, and your patience will likely be rewarded. Have a look at @Old Carpenter Guy 's thread here https://www.linux.org/threads/linuxmint-17-qiana-install-problem.14457/ for inspiration. He is as happy as a pig in mud now, lol.

    I'll be around

    Wiz
     
    Rob likes this.
  17. harbottleaudio

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    27
    how do i do a reinstall? Just restart the computer and in the menu that comes up, select install ubuntu?
     
  18. harbottleaudio

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    27
    ok. I have to go to dinner at a friends house. But it sounds like I should be waiting for a bit @wizardfromoz ?
    Maybe I can catch up with you in a 3 or 4 hours? And we can give it a go then?
    I did to a reinstall from the dvd a 4-ish hours ago and thats how i was able to get to the point I am at now (FYI).
     
  19. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    386
    You did a re-install???? I missed that!!!!

    But you are correct... boot on the DVD, choose Install Ubuntu and take it from there. When it gets to the section to set partitions, tell it to "Use entire disk" so it erases anything on there now.

    Enjoy dinner!
     
  20. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    313
    Not sure this is working properly, respond if you can read it.

    Yes, you can, or else you can choose the option to try first and then install from there.

    Yes just got the dinner message, have fun :D:D you've earned it!

    3-4 hrs works fine for me. Read here first I'll have some extra material.

    Cheers

    BTW and what Stan said.
     
    atanere likes this.

Share This Page