Clear up some confusion maybe

Asios

Reaction score
Credits
Total newb here and im sure, which ive seen many times, youve heard, where do i start.
I read down a couple threads probably one of the best answers is to DL several versions and load via usb and test, rinse repeat.
My problem is ive read several things that concern me.

Ive boiled down my choices to:

Slackware (no systemd, moderate learning curve, stable, secure)

Zorin (systemd, most window-ish, paid support?)

Kubuntu (systemd, beginner friendly)

1. Systemd. I know its what Linux is built on? A package of tools so to speak. But theres a lot of questions around what its actually doing and why its doing it. Im not sure what to make of this. Its essentially in almost every distro. Except a select few which are good enough yet more of an advance user. Slackware is supposedly beginner friendly but ive read otherwise. Gentoo. Void. Manjaro.*

2. Security. How secure is Linux? I've read its virtually immune. Then i read something about while updating its vulnerable to attack? Im kinda lost on this.

3. Stability. Some distros update weekly and downloaded and update can break what already works. Is it essential to update weekly? Why not monthly? Id like to steer clear of weekly updates and update it myself when i choose. ( the whole reason why im moving away from windows. Win 10 build 1803 forces updates, only way to stop is using Nsudo. Now its all wonky, plus DWS seems to be a joke and does nothing or not as much as recently thought. Will revert back to 1709 and force updates off permanently. I still need windows for adobe premiere/photoshop, so i'll dual boot)

4. Dual booting. Ive read its not a good idea. I have another tower and or HDD. But going back to HDD from nvme m2 seems silly. Hence why i liked the usb idea, but eventually i'll have to fork over another $400 for a sam 960 evo 1tb =(, which sucks cuz only 1 of 2 nvme slots on MB is fast. So im not really sure what to do here either.