Can not boot my laptop :(

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,618
Reaction score
3,325
Credits
33,512


f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,618
Reaction score
3,325
Credits
33,512
When your drama is over, we can tell you how Timeshift works

Don't worry about it now.....after you have finished with @f33dm3bits restoring your OS and retrieving data etc
Also, give some thought to using BitWarden password manager. That can be for later too.
I'm just trying to get their /home directory archived to an external hard drive from Rescue mode because I'm getting the idea the hard drive is failing or about to fail because of some errors I saw and because of some message stating about it being mounted as read-only.
 
OP
Poppy_seed

Poppy_seed

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
25
Reaction score
4
Credits
149
I tried to 'ls' files in some directories, to see what is in it, however, some of directories contains too many files and I can only see the end. I did search how to 'scroll' but nothing worked.
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,618
Reaction score
3,325
Credits
33,512
Do the following in a directory.
Code:
ls | less
Then you can scroll.
 
OP
Poppy_seed

Poppy_seed

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
25
Reaction score
4
Credits
149
exactly this is what i tried. How are you suppose to scroll? Arrow keys do nothing, PgUp, Down nothing
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,618
Reaction score
3,325
Credits
33,512
exactly this is what i tried. How are you suppose to scroll? Arrow keys do nothing, PgUp, Down nothing
No idea, it works when I did it on my vm running Debian. Why are you wanting to scroll, I assume you are wanting to make an archive of all your files in your home directory.
 
OP
Poppy_seed

Poppy_seed

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
25
Reaction score
4
Credits
149
I want to see if I can actually read some of txt files and copy them manually onto my usb flash drive before I get an external one.
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,618
Reaction score
3,325
Credits
33,512
I want to see if I can actually read some of txt files and copy them manually onto my usb flash drive before I get an external one.
Other thin you can do is the following.
1. Plugin in a usb drive in your system and mount it under /mnt
2. Go to your home directory: cd $HOME
3. find . > /mnt/myfiles.txt
4. Then from another system you can filter through that text file search for files you want to copy over to your flash drive.
 
OP
Poppy_seed

Poppy_seed

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
25
Reaction score
4
Credits
149
What would happen if I would 'reinstall GRUB boot loader' when I am in rescue mode?
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,618
Reaction score
3,325
Credits
33,512
What would happen if I would 'reinstall GRUB boot loader' when I am in rescue mode?
Grub is not the problem because it already goes past that when you boot normally, it fails at another part of the boot process. What you can do is boot into rescuemode, reset your root password, then boot normally and then fail it fails during normal boot again you can enter your root password and see what you can see from there.
 

diorthotis

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
18
Reaction score
6
Credits
139
Well, I 'discovered' that there is a graphic rescue mode :D which actually allows me to scroll using my mouse! Oh dear.

When listing files in a terminal, you pipe the results to the command "less" or "more", which allows you to press enter to scroll the screen if more elements appear than can fit at once.

"ls | less"

or "ls | more"

The pipes "|" transfers the output of one command to the input of another.
 

Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
1,671
Reaction score
1,120
Credits
12,483
If you look at the first photo you posted you will see -
[FAILED] Failed to start Load Kernel Modules
See 'systemctl status systemd-modules-load.service' for details

I believe you need to fix this first
Code:
sudo apt-get update
Code:
sudo dpkg --configure -a
Code:
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
Code:
sudo apt-get -f install
reboot
 

diorthotis

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
18
Reaction score
6
Credits
139
If you look at the first photo you posted you will see -
[FAILED] Failed to start Load Kernel Modules
See 'systemctl status systemd-modules-load.service' for details

I believe you need to fix this first
Code:
sudo apt-get update
Code:
sudo dpkg --configure -a
Code:
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
Code:
sudo apt-get -f install
reboot

No, the system fails to boot, so how can they perform those operations?
 

Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
1,671
Reaction score
1,120
Credits
12,483
No, the system fails to boot, so how can they perform those operations?
Precisely, need to press Ctrl+Alt+F3 at startup which will get you into a VT (Virtual Terminal) then run the commands after you login once done then reboot
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Members online


Top