BYOBU PORT ISSUE?

DEBCal

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Credits
48
Hi. My previous employee setup my office server using BYOBU. After installing a template in my ERP system (hosted on the server), I can no longer access the ERP system via our web portal AND our external backup system now fails as well. I have received email notification from the server that the backup "Failed to connect to port" and "the connection was refused". The backup and ERP system both appear to use the same port. I can still access my files on the server and BYOBU OS is still operational. My limited knowledge of linux suggests that something happened to that specific port and hence both services are not functional right now. I have used "netstat" to check what ports are currently open and the specific one required is not listed. I have tried to restart "IPtables" but it appears that BYOBU does not have "IPtables" installed or functional.

My two thoughts would be:-
1) to either do a system restore back to before the problem. However it appears that the server only has a file backup restore application and no system restore application.
2) try to restart the required port again and assume the related services would start to function again.

Help please. If my suspicion is correct, how do I open the port again? Then how do I ensure it opens automatically each time the server is restarted?
 


dcbrown73

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2021
Messages
361
Reaction score
329
Credits
3,199
There are a hundred questions to be asked to even have some idea of what's wrong.

The first thing you need to do is check the logs for error messages. While I don't know where your logs for your ERP system reside, I would definitely look in /var/log directory to see what you find there.

Specifically files like /var/log/messages, but a list of files you find in there might be helpful too.

This is just a question, not a directive. Did you try or have you rebooted the server? The issue persisted?

Have you contacted your ERP system's support? In truth, that should be your first course of action.

EDIT: By the way, it may not be able to open the port because you have a port conflict. The port may have already been open and it's trying to re-open it. A stale network socket file descriptor. If this is the case, a reboot may fix it. That said, you want to be careful because your ERP may have some "proper" shutdown sequence that needs to happen and just shutting down may not trigger it properly.
 
OP
D

DEBCal

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Credits
48
There are a hundred questions to be asked to even have some idea of what's wrong.

The first thing you need to do is check the logs for error messages. While I don't know where your logs for your ERP system reside, I would definitely look in /var/log directory to see what you find there.

Specifically files like /var/log/messages, but a list of files you find in there might be helpful too.

This is just a question, not a directive. Did you try or have you rebooted the server? The issue persisted?

Have you contacted your ERP system's support? In truth, that should be your first course of action.

EDIT: By the way, it may not be able to open the port because you have a port conflict. The port may have already been open and it's trying to re-open it. A stale network socket file descriptor. If this is the case, a reboot may fix it. That said, you want to be careful because your ERP may have some "proper" shutdown sequence that needs to happen and just shutting down may not trigger it properly.
Thank you for your reply.
The server has been rebooted. Problem persists.
The ERP was installed by us (my employee who is no longer with the company), so there is no ERP system support.
Server worked well and normally until my attempt to install a template within the ERP environment. So one would automatically assume that it's purely an ERP error, except for the fact that our backup also fails (being unrelated to the ERP system, except for the common port number). Hence my focus on the port currently.
As mentioned, the "netstat" command does not list that port as being open. Hence I'm not sure that it's attempting to re-open an active open port.
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,884
Reaction score
2,623
Credits
28,059
I have used "netstat" to check what ports are currently open and the specific one required is not listed. I have tried to restart "IPtables" but it appears that BYOBU does not have "IPtables" installed or functional.
What Linux distribution is running on that system? Check if the system is using nftables instead of iptables, as root run the following.
Code:
nft list ruleset
If you get output it means the system is using nftables rules as firewall, if you get an error you are not running nftables. Although since nothing is running on the port it's pretty useless to check if the port is open in the firewall. I have never heard of an ERP system but I would start by checking the system's syslog, since if ERP is an application running on the server I would expect there to be either system or application log files pointing out why a service is not able to start on a specific port.
 
Last edited:
OP
D

DEBCal

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Credits
48
What Linux distribution is running on that system? Check if the system is using nftables instead of iptables, as root run the following.
Code:
nft list ruleset
If you get output it means the system is using nftables rules as firewall, if you get an error you are not running nftables. Although since nothing is running on the port it's pretty useless to check if the port is open in the firewall. I have never heard of an ERP system but I would start by checking the system's syslog, since if ERP is an application running on the server I would expect there to be either system or application log files pointing out why a service is not able to start on a specific port.
Thank you for your response. Under the desktop pull down menu "System" the environment listed says "Mate Desktop Environment 1.12.1"
When attempting the nft command it returns with "nft is currently not installed".
I was just busy reading the syslog (gosh it's alot of info). The ERP service starts and requests a start from a VM which also starts. The VM tries to solicit some pool servers but ends with org.gtk.vfs.Daemon not being able to make a connection with the bus. I note the mnt for the external backup drive fails with result 'dependency' but that drive is not usually connected during startup.
 
OP
D

DEBCal

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Credits
48
Hi all. My ex. employee managed to resolve the problem. Apparently the partition on which these services run was 100% full. So a bit of a clean up resolved the issue. Thanks for all your input
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!


Latest posts

Top