Bootable usb with Cinnamon not found in bios

enawrat

Reaction score
Credits
I must apologise if this is a common question, but I have looked everywhere and tried all the usual things, including trying to boot from grub via terminal, to no avail. These are my laptop and system details:
Linux Lite 2.8
Desktop:​
Xfce 4.10
Processor:​
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T8100 @ 2.10GHz
Architecture:​
x86_64
Memory:​
3952MB (Used: 710MB 17.97%)
Hostname:​
enawrat-VGN-AR71M
Kernel:​
Linux 3.13.0-170-generic
I wrote the verified the iso image to usb using UNetbootin. Mounting it seems to reveal all the required files, i.e. that I have burned the iso image and not just copied the file to usb. The dual boot bios still only gives windows vista and linuxlite from hdd. The USB on this 9 years old Sony Vaio do seem to be working ok, too. As you can probably tell, I am a complete novice, so I would greatly appreciate anyone's assistance.

When I have those issues I change the bios from or to legacy from uefi or legacy. Also are you using USB 2 sticks or 3 sticks? Sometimes that messes me up.

I must apologise if this is a common question, but I have looked everywhere and tried all the usual things, including trying to boot from grub via terminal, to no avail. These are my laptop and system details:
Linux Lite 2.8
Desktop:​
Xfce 4.10
Processor:​
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T8100 @ 2.10GHz
Architecture:​
x86_64
Memory:​
3952MB (Used: 710MB 17.97%)
Hostname:​
enawrat-VGN-AR71M
Kernel:​
Linux 3.13.0-170-generic
I wrote the verified the iso image to usb using UNetbootin. Mounting it seems to reveal all the required files, i.e. that I have burned the iso image and not just copied the file to usb. The dual boot bios still only gives windows vista and linuxlite from hdd. The USB on this 9 years old Sony Vaio do seem to be working ok, too. As you can probably tell, I am a complete novice, so I would greatly appreciate anyone's assistance.