Are you using linux? If yes, why?

captain-sensible

Credits
it was the "add on" software costs that made me look at Linux e.g Office Suite and it also coincided with a Desktop build. I had no O.S on a new build so thought i would have nothing to loose putting lInux on it.

When i found that i could get Linux up and it had a free word processor that was the start.

Then i started playing with websites anyone remember cuteFTP it was a client to easily connect from your P.C and upload files to the server. Then i saw gFTP

poorguy

Credits
I needed an alternative to Windows XP as it was reaching EOL and tried out Linux and here I am.

I also use old computers and certain Linux distros give new life to old computers and old computer hardware.

Linux encourages installing Linux distros on as many different computers as I want and most of the time Linux installs and updates and works OOTB.

You just can't beat all of that for free and I donate some cash for the Linux distros I download an iso file from to help defray the cost.

Linux works for me OOTB most of the time without being a PITA and I like that.

Last edited:

captain-sensible

Credits
Why copy software illegally if you can get it for free ?
Its something i asked myself when last in Ghana . My empirical observation is that 98% of users are using cloned Windows including a lecturer laptop that also had cloned (stolen) Windows. here is there thinking "why bother to learn something" when i can get Windows for free. Microsoft engaged a "Country manager" but not quite sure success rate of collecting revenue. If Microsoft push to hard maybe they are frightened of Cloned Windows users going straight to linux. In Indonesia quite some time back they were pro-active and closed down internet cafes using Cloned Windows. This in part led to "Zencafe" distro based on Zenwalk Linux which had quite an input from Indonesian coders

Attachments

sp331yi

Credits
Using GNU/Linux exclusively. Have been since 2009. Why?