Are we suffering attempted DDoS attacks.

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
8,069
Reaction score
6,924
Credits
65,510
Just for completeness sake, I have reset the uptime monitor. Again, it'll take a while before it yields any useful data. It's very much a long-term thing, I guess you could say.
 


bob466

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
761
Reaction score
536
Credits
5,631
Got this just now...
screenshot-43.png








Not good.
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
5,546
Reaction score
4,642
Credits
33,684
what else is new...(sarcasm)
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
8,069
Reaction score
6,924
Credits
65,510
The downtime isn't too bad at the moment. So far, just some short outages with none lasting more than a couple of minutes.

I reset the monitor after The Great Reset.
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
5,546
Reaction score
4,642
Credits
33,684
Apparently while I was catching my beauty sleep ......nasty crap happened to the site.

231 minutes down is no joke.
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
8,069
Reaction score
6,924
Credits
65,510
Yeah, I checked the monitor when I got online today. I was pretty busy this morning, so I was able to miss the giant swaths of downtime we seemed to suffer. The monitor says there was quite a bit of downtime while I was away.
 

MikeWalsh

Active Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2022
Messages
134
Reaction score
152
Credits
1,673
I've had the "502: Bad gateway" for several hours this afternoon. Couldn't connect at all until around an hour ago.

Mike. :(
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
8,069
Reaction score
6,924
Credits
65,510
That might be on your end, for that one. (Or maybe on Cloudflare, maybe regional.)

There haven't been any outages (measured) for a little over 8 hours. Those are tested from four places across the globe. The uptime monitor is also fluent in Cloudflare-speak, so knows to wait for a connection to the real site.

That said, we're already down to 99.2% uptime.
 
OP
Brickwizard

Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
3,461
Reaction score
2,290
Credits
25,754
@MikeWalsh yes we were off for just over 3 hrs yesterday afternoon [uk time] as well as several shorter outages earlier in the day
 

bob466

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
761
Reaction score
536
Credits
5,631
What is this...
screenshot-43.png


Every day something new.
m1512.gif
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
5,546
Reaction score
4,642
Credits
33,684
I believe it is a concerted effort to ensure ongoing security of our data....email addresses etc etc

I could be wrong, but I think I am close to the mark.
 
OP
Brickwizard

Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
3,461
Reaction score
2,290
Credits
25,754

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
8,069
Reaction score
6,924
Credits
65,510
While it is annoying, it may help our uptime. We're down to 99.6% and that's just since the reset on the 20th. On the 30th of October, the uptime was just 83%.

So, I'm hoping this helps with the uptime. Uptime should be in the 99.9% region, sometimes higher if you have good hosting and an SLA that has penalties for downtime. My linux-tips site gets a whole lot less traffic, which should be considered, and has a 99.96% uptime.

We'll have to be patient, using the wait and see approach. Hopefully this helps with that uptime issue. It should also reduce number of bots that hammer on the site.
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
8,069
Reaction score
6,924
Credits
65,510
Was there a period of time between when you last passed through the security checkpoint page and the time you tried to perform the action that resulted in that particular error>
 

Bartman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2022
Messages
738
Reaction score
715
Credits
5,275
Nope it happens quite often and is really annoying.

I have to refresh the page almost every time I try and post bout to just give up.

This is the only forum I have this problem on and it's really bad here lately.
 

Old Tom Bombadil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
152
Reaction score
224
Credits
1,397
I also get the "Oops..." error quite often with the latest anti-DDoS measures. I seem to notice it mostly when trying to post a "reaction" or when trying to post a reply to a thread. Reloading the page seems to help, as @Bartman said.
 

Bartman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2022
Messages
738
Reaction score
715
Credits
5,275
I know the extra security steps and measures are necessary but they can sure be a PITA for an old impatient fart as myself.
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
8,069
Reaction score
6,924
Credits
65,510
Hmm... Yeah, security is a blend of usability and security. A completely secure system would be a computer buried inside a 25ft^3 chunk of concrete. Somewhere between that and completely open is the ideal!

That said, I've never seen that message.

If you take too long and have like an IP address change, then CF will likely cause an error.

I guess I'll take it. I'd rather err on the side of security, so long as usability remains acceptable.
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation

Members online


Latest posts

Top