Archiving multiple folders and/or files using CLI?

rado84

Reaction score
Credits
I started practicing archiving stuff using the CLI (because that happens a lot faster in the terminal than it does in the GUI) and so far I managed to do it but only for a single file or folder:
Code:
7z a mozilla-archive.7z ~/.mozilla -m9=lzma2

However, my several attempts to archive several folders (containing many subfolders and many files and subfiles) failed miserably, so apparently I'm doing something wrong. For instance, there's this directory called "Scania Streamline v1.0.9" which contains this:

Code:
├── def
│   ├── country
│   │   ├── austria
│   │   ├── belgium
│   │   ├── czech
│   │   ├── denmark
│   │   ├── estonia
│   │   ├── finland
│   │   ├── france
│   │   ├── germany
│   │   ├── hungary
│   │   ├── italy
│   │   ├── latvia
│   │   ├── lithuania
│   │   ├── luxembourg
│   │   ├── netherlands
│   │   ├── norway
│   │   ├── poland
│   │   ├── russia
│   │   ├── slovakia
│   │   ├── sweden
│   │   ├── switzerland
│   │   └── uk
│   └── vehicle
│       ├── ai
│       └── truck
│           └── scania.streamline
│               ├── accessory
│               │   ├── beacon
│               │   ├── b_grill
│               │   ├── codrv_plate
│               │   ├── doorhndl
│               │   ├── doorstep
│               │   ├── drv_plate
│               │   ├── exhaust_l
│               │   ├── exhaust_r
│               │   ├── f_grill
│               │   ├── f_intake_cab
│               │   ├── f_mirror
│               │   ├── mirror
│               │   ├── r_bumper
│               │   ├── r_grill
│               │   ├── r_mudflap
│               │   ├── set_dashbrd
│               │   ├── set_glass
│               │   ├── sideskirt
│               │   ├── s_mirror
│               │   ├── steering_w
│               │   ├── sunshld
│               │   ├── toyhang
│               │   └── toystand
│               ├── cabin
│               ├── chassis