All New

R

Ragoczy

Hi everyone, I am all new here. I just installed Ubuntu on my old laptop and I want to learn linux. I have no background in programming, used a little bit of DOS but, now I want to get used to linux and then learn a little bit of programming. Can anyone help with suggestions?

Hi everyone, I am all new here. I just installed Ubuntu on my old laptop and I want to learn linux. I have no background in programming, used a little bit of DOS but, now I want to get used to linux and then learn a little bit of programming. Can anyone help with suggestions?
Well, you can start her with the Beginner Tutorials here on Linux.org. Plus the Ubuntu Desktop Guide.

Also, you should check out all the resources on The Linux Documentation Project, including the Intoduction to Linux.

The best answer is to start using Linux for everything you would normally do on Windows. Also learn to use the bash command line. The bash CLI (Command Line Interface) alone is more powerful than Windows GUI ever thought of being! ;^)

I think you need to examine yourself first. Do you just want to be a Linux user? A power user? A developer? A sysadmin?

Where do you want to go? Where do you want to end up? That will decide what you need to know.

I am a newbie to GNU/Linux myself, and what really helped me are these two reading guides:

Newbies guide to Linux system

and

Reading guides

I started with the beginners on both guides, then read the intermediate guides. I am not quite ready to tackle the advanced guides, yet, but will be soon! Just take it slow and easy and make sure you understand the concepts before moving on. LinuxCommand.org is great resource for learning the command line. If you don't understand something, post a question here, the members are great at explaining things in a way that you'll understand.

Welcome to the world of GNU/Linux!!!

I think you need to examine yourself first. Do you just want to be a Linux user? A power user? A developer? A sysadmin?