Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd, 2017 please sign up again. Thanks!

  1. More ways to get the info! - we shoot all of our new original content out as well as random messages on Twitter and our newsletter!. Twitter | Newsletter
    Dismiss Notice

ahci not detected no boot no os????

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Gary worley, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. Gary worley

    Gary worley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi i attempted to install dos 6.22 on a hdd that had linux mint on it. I could not partition to install dos 6.22 not
    enough disk space. So i decided not to bother. This morning i turn on computer and it says its looking for ahci on port 2. It does not find it. It will not boot.
    I have tried booting with clonezilla, hirens boot, and windows xp and nothing. They all can not find hdd.
    I tried another hdd in computer and thats fine. its on a computer with 4 hotswap sata drives and it not the sata as other hdds work in slot that wont work with the faulty hdd.
    Any suggestions gratefully accepted.
    I have tried bench test but no software can find the hdd.
    It worked fine and was tested 2 months ago and the report was fine.
    Is there no way to reinstall ahci?
    Thats the problem no ahci?
    cheers chaps


    (Log in to hide this advertisement)

     
  2. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    2,251
    Sounds like a Brit :)

    Australia here, Gary and welcome to linux.org

    Tell us more ... mas mas more.

    Desktop, I take it, with the hot-swapping?

    Brand and model number?

    How are you communicating with us at the moment? From another computer?

    Can you duplicate the error and either note down exactly what it says, or take a clear phone pic and attach it to us?

    Are you dualbooting with Windows and if so, which version?

    Occasionally, AHCI errors are the result of a dying CMOS battery, but there is usually more output in that case.

    So tell us what you can and we'll see what's what and who's who.

    Cheers

    Chris Turner
    wizardfromoz
     
  3. Gary worley

    Gary worley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    9


    Hi
    here are the pics you asked for. If you need more please ask.
     
  4. Gary worley

    Gary worley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    9
    IMG_20190207_105231.jpg IMG_20190207_105231.jpg Hi
    Thanks for replying i,m baffled i no i need to reinstall the ahci, but i do not know how to?
    heres pics you asked for .Hope this is what you wanted if not i can take more.
    DoH says pics are to big to upload?
    Each hotswap drive has a different os on them and only 1 is active at any time.
    All four are never used together.
    cheers
    gary
     

    Attached Files:

  5. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    2,251
    Thanks for those pics Gary :)

    I do not know anything about hot-swapping, so my chances of helping are limited, I am afraid.

    I think I would first try, in your BIOS, to find the SATA option and switch from AHCI to IDE, reboot and see if that worked.

    Other than that, I can give you a list of the Google searches I have conducted, some vids which feature American Megatrends versions very close to yours, &c and you can see if any of them help.

    Also, is there an option to have two of the drives running at the same time? If you plugged in your Fedora drive, updated its GRUB to get Mint on the menu, and tried to boot into Mint, it might determine whether the drive itself is still without fault.

    Cheers

    Wizard
     

Share This Page