16+ usb to sata drives, low pwr mgmt, uuid & file caching/freezing, + GPIO???

1branchonthevine

Reaction score
Credits
I am a bit of a noob when it comes to linux developement, and I am sensing a bigger project than I intended... But here goes... I am trying to set up an ultra low power system with 16-24+ sata drives connected via usb. Think of this system as a drive archival NAS type system, where it would not be me pulling up a drive to connect it, but a stack of addressable drives, kind if like one of those old sony 400 DVD/BD disk changers, but in this case, no mechanical robotic features, only electrically automated.

Anyway, I only expect 1-2 drives (of many) to ever be accessed or turned on at a time in the beginning (to keep overall power requirements down), have it set up in a Jbod config (no raid sets in mind just yet), and all the other drives must go into a low power, (or better yet) power off state.

I realize usb to sata often has limitations on SMART and drive power management, so i may have to use GPIO addressing to switch off the physical power to each unused drive, and possibly certain usb ports/hubs.

I am shooting for +/-10watts in standby, with an indefinite amount of drive scalability. Since only 1-2 drives of many will ever be used at a time, then simply using 16-24 port usb hubs, or design my own physical usb signal addressing/routing backplane connected to two or more primary mainboard usb ports, should be more than sufficient. If i have to design a new usb to sata pcb interface, i will, maybe i dont have to though?

Pci would be nice, but sata controllers are too power hungry, and I am not sure my system could handle hotplugging or powering off/on pci hci devices on the fly.