Substitute mint for mandrake

Discussion in 'Laptops / Netbooks' started by devaite, Jul 21, 2014.

  1. devaite

    devaite New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all! I´m starting on this forum, hope for a long time :)

    I have a laptop and I installed linux mint side-by-side with windows 7. I want to substitute mint for mandrake, can I do that without disturbing windows?


    Regards for you all.
     
  2. Jim Laughlan

    Jim Laughlan Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    105
    I would keep Mint. Linux is Linux is Linux is Linux but it's the latest kernel. It's always comprised of the commands from the command line interface anyway and all that's different is the desktop GUI (Cinnamon, GNOME, KDE..etc) You have a fine distro and will work very well for you. But if you have to, you just remove Mint from that partition and when you install Mandrake (a dead and buried distro) just point the installation to that partition. The partition is already there. Hopefully you'll still be able to dual boot. Just remember to back up the important files from Windows just in case. I have the same setup (Mint/Windows 7) and it's working just fine.

    Regards
    Jim
     
    devaite likes this.
  3. arochester

    arochester Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    373
    I hope you mean Mandriva and not Mandrake...
     
    Jim Laughlan likes this.
  4. Jim Laughlan

    Jim Laughlan Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    105
    I was just thinking that. Hoping it's a typo.
     
  5. devaite

    devaite New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, i mean mandriva, its because i liked the interface.
     
  6. devaite

    devaite New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I
    i have a samsung laptop, and it has a software that puts the computer in sillent, but in mint i cant do that.
    I guess i will keep mint then, thanks for the help.
     
  7. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    653
    Just to answer the question, yes you can replace Mint. With anything really.
     
    Jim Laughlan likes this.

Share This Page