squid proxy

Discussion in 'General Server' started by Damien T Mc Mahon, Jun 8, 2014.

  1. Damien T Mc Mahon

    Damien T Mc Mahon New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hey im trying to set up squid for content filtering on my network. what i want to do is to filter all out going traffic so people are not using proxies to by pass my settings other than my self to have unblocked access. i have open dns setup but you can by pass it by changing the dns and every user is an admin on their own pcs so its not possible to lock them down

    iv tried to setup squid but it gives me an error when i run initialize the cache
    this the error
    Initializing the Squid cache with the command squid3 -f /etc/squid3/squid.conf -z ..
    2014/06/06 20:56:22 kid1| Creating missing swap directories
    2014/06/06 20:56:22 kid1| No cache_dir stores are configured.

    my configuration is
    hp ml115 server with 40gb os
    webmin and putty for remote access to server
    2x 320gb ntfs samba
    dhcp server running
    os is lubuntu 14.04
    webmin + putty for remote
    i also have to no access to the server so remote is the only option for me
    ps im still kinda a newbie with linux

    Last edited: Jun 8, 2014
  2. VitalkaDrug

    VitalkaDrug New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Check your /etc/squid3/squid.conf for presence of cache_dir directive.
    This directive should specify a directory where your cached content will be stored, and some others options for cache.
    Look to this page for details: http://www.squid-cache.org/Doc/config/cache_dir/
  3. Damien T Mc Mahon

    Damien T Mc Mahon New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i used sudo nano /etc/squid3/squid.con and the file came up blank on putty
  4. VitalkaDrug

    VitalkaDrug New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    3
    So it means you are trying to use Squid without the configuration file.
    This file can't to be empty. Did you install Squid from a package? Try to reinstall it again in this case.
    Otherwise, try to find a template for this file and adapt it for your purpose.
  5. Damien T Mc Mahon

    Damien T Mc Mahon New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i dont know. i used sudo apt-get install squid3 or some like that
    hears a screen shot
    upload_2014-6-9_16-50-41.png
  6. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    429
    Trophy Points:
    83
    try:
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure squid3
    but the file should be at:
    /etc/squid3/squid.conf
    (make sure to include the last f :) it is a configuration file... .conf)
  7. Damien T Mc Mahon

    Damien T Mc Mahon New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    still getting this error
    Initializing the Squid cache with the command squid3 -f /etc/squid3/squid.conf -z ..

    2014/06/09 17:50:22 kid1| Creating missing swap directories
    2014/06/09 17:50:22 kid1| No cache_dir stores are configured.
    and this in my config file
    upload_2014-6-9_17-52-8.png
  8. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    429
    Trophy Points:
    83
    You should search that file for cache_dir.
  9. Damien T Mc Mahon

    Damien T Mc Mahon New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    how do i do it on webmin as iv no idea
  10. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    429
    Trophy Points:
    83
    open that file in nano again
    ctrl + w
    type cache_dir
    enter

    this should search the file for cach_dir and if it exists in will bring the cursor to that location.

Share This Page