Security Reading Guide

Discussion in 'General Computing' started by DevynCJohnson, Jul 24, 2014.

  1. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Trophy Points:
    113
    For those of you that like to sit down and read many articles on a particular subject, then this is the post for you. Here, I made an index of various articles on security. Enjoy!

    The Basics

    Basic Security - http://www.linux.org/threads/basic-security.4226/

    Keeping Your Linux System Secure An Insecure World - http://www.linux.org/threads/keeping-your-linux-system-secure-an-insecure-world.4190/

    Being Root User
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/when-to-work-as-root-when-to-work-as-a-system-user.4106/

    Secure Password Collisions - http://www.linux.org/threads/secure-password-collisions.4886/

    Encryption - http://www.linux.org/threads/intro-to-encryption.4376/

    Malware and Antivirus - http://www.linux.org/threads/malware-and-antivirus-systems-for-linux.4455/

    Privacy - http://www.linux.org/threads/privacy-on-gnu-linux.5532/


    System


    Rolling vs Stable Release Cycles - http://www.linux.org/threads/rolling-vs-stable-release-cycle-which-for-security.4951/

    Linux Kernel Security Modules (LSMs) - http://www.linux.org/threads/the-linux-kernel-security.4223/

    chmod (Part 1) - http://www.linux.org/threads/security-with-chmod-part-1-the-basics.4915/

    chmod (Part 2) - http://www.linux.org/threads/security-with-chmod-part-2-special-bits.4935/

    chown - http://www.linux.org/threads/chown-security-uses.4942/

    pam_unix.so - http://www.linux.org/threads/pam_unix-so-is-your-security-friend.4650/


    Network

    Firewalls - http://www.linux.org/threads/firewalls.4165/

    Basic Firewall with IPTables - http://www.linux.org/threads/basic-firewall-with-iptables.547/

    General Tips for Working with IPTables - http://www.linux.org/threads/general-tips-for-working-with-iptables.290/

    Basic IPTable Rules - http://www.linux.org/threads/base-iptables-rules-that-will-apply-to-virtually-any-web-server.10/

    Which Firewall Distro is Right for Me? - http://www.linux.org/threads/which-firewall-distro-is-right-for-me.5209/

    Server Security Tips - http://www.linux.org/threads/some-tips-to-secure-your-server.4651/


    Related Guides

    Cryptography Reading Guide - http://www.linux.org/threads/cryptography-reading-guide.6231/



    More Guides - http://www.linux.org/threads/reading-guides-indexes.6034/

Share This Page