Scripting/Command-line Reading Guide

Discussion in 'General Computing' started by DevynCJohnson, May 25, 2014.

  1. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    1,073
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Here is a reading guide that contains links to various articles on this site pertaining to scripting.


    Shell-Scripting

    Programming with BASH - http://www.linux.org/threads/programming-with-bash.4227/

    Programming in Linux - http://www.linux.org/threads/programming-in-linux.4187/

    BASH Decision Constructs - http://www.linux.org/threads/bash-decision-constructs.4123/

    Customize BASH - http://www.linux.org/threads/customize-bash.4129/

    Environment Variables - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-linux-shell-02-–-environment-variables.6177/

    Helpful Aliases - http://www.linux.org/threads/helpful-aliases.4764/

    Installing new software (Debian, Red Hat, Slackware) - http://www.linux.org/threads/installing-new-software-debian-red-hat-slackware.4089/

    Text Processing and Manipulation - http://www.linux.org/threads/text-processing-and-manipulation.4107/

    Users on a System - http://www.linux.org/threads/users-on-a-system.4221/

    Kill Commands and Signals - http://www.linux.org/threads/kill-commands-and-signals.4423/

    File Compression in the Command-line - http://www.linux.org/threads/file-compression-in-the-command-line.5460/

    Commands for System Administration - http://www.linux.org/threads/commands-for-system-administration.4096/

    More Useful Commands - http://www.linux.org/threads/more-useful-commands.4101/

    Cool Shortcuts - http://www.linux.org/threads/cool-shortcuts.4103/

    Set Up SSH Keys - http://www.linux.org/threads/set-up-ssh-keys.4211/

    Basic Firewall with iptables - http://www.linux.org/threads/basic-firewall-with-iptables.547/

    Zenity - GUI for Shell Scripts - http://www.linux.org/threads/zenity-gui-for-shell-scripts.5567/

    KDialog - KDE GUI for Scripts - http://www.linux.org/threads/kdialog-kde-gui-for-scripts.5815/

    Dialog - Another GUI for Scripts - http://www.linux.org/threads/dialog-another-gui-for-scripts.5900/

    Optimizing BASH Scripts - http://www.linux.org/threads/optimizing-bash-scripts.4216/

    Embedding Other Languages in BASH Scripts - http://www.linux.org/threads/embedding-other-languages-in-bash-scripts.4215/

    Fun and Weird Linux Commands - http://www.linux.org/threads/fun-and-weird-linux-commands.4200/


    Check If MySQL Packages Installed - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-shell-script-check-if-mysql-packages-installed.4617/

    Automate tasks on a Linux system - http://www.linux.org/threads/how-to-automate-tasks-on-a-linux-system.4114/

    MAN Pages & Useful Information - http://www.linux.org/threads/man-pages-useful-information.4092/


    Shell Commands

    at - http://www.linux.org/threads/command-at.258/

    cat - http://www.linux.org/threads/command-cat.126/

    chmod - http://www.linux.org/threads/file-permissions-chmod.4094/

    chmod (different author) - http://www.linux.org/threads/command-chmod.161/

    chown - http://www.linux.org/threads/file-permisions-chown.4095/

    clear - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-command-clear.4196/

    cp - http://www.linux.org/threads/the-cp-command.4099/

    du - http://www.linux.org/threads/command-du.278/

    mkdir & rmdir - http://www.linux.org/threads/the-mkdir-and-rmdir-commands.4097/

    mv - http://www.linux.org/threads/the-mv-command.4100/

    rm - http://www.linux.org/threads/the-rm-command.4098/

    screen - http://www.linux.org/threads/screen-the-path-for-beginners.4184/


    Other Scripts

    Python3 Scripting (Part 1?) - http://www.linux.org/threads/python3-scripting-part-1.4877/

    Python3 Scripting 2 - http://www.linux.org/threads/python3-scripting-2.4987/

    Using Perl - http://www.linux.org/threads/using-perl.4111/


    Related Guide (Programming) - http://www.linux.org/threads/programming-development-reading-guide.6359/
    More Guides - http://www.linux.org/threads/reading-guides-indexes.6034/
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2014
    rstanley, spin89 and ZZs like this.

Share This Page