problem with sudo apt get update

Discussion in 'General Linux' started by vansh, Sep 11, 2013.

  1. vansh

    vansh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    output for
    cat /etc/resolv.conf

    # Dynamic resolv.conf(5) file for glibc resolver(3) generated by resolvconf(8)
    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE BY HAND -- YOUR CHANGES WILL BE OVERWRITTEN

     
  2. vansh

    vansh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi..
    as i am from india so have server form india ..
    what else i can change here



     
  3. vansh

    vansh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    or what does can be modified from here ..??
     
  4. flunwyc

    flunwyc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    61
    There are no name servers in your resolv.cof
     
    Rob likes this.
  5. Rob

    Rob Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    267
    Put this in your resolv.conf:
    Code:
    # Google nameservers
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
     
  6. vansh

    vansh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dint get you please suggest
     
  7. vansh

    vansh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    do i have to use this in template ..as when i am using it there its asking to install googecl
     
  8. Rob

    Rob Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    267
    Type this as root:

    Code:
    echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" >> /etc/resolv.conf
     
  9. vansh

    vansh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have edited the resol.conf file using gksu gedit /etc/resolv.conf
    and
    # Dynamic resolv.conf(5) file for glibc resolver(3) generated by resolvconf(8)
    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE BY HAND -- YOUR CHANGES WILL BE OVERWRITTEN
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
     
  10. Rob

    Rob Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    267
    Cool - try the apt command again now
     
  11. vansh

    vansh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have downloaded csh_20110502.orig.tar.gz
    unpacked it using
    gzip -d <package>.tar.gz
    tar xvf <package>.tar
    but there is again a problem in installing it ...am i doing it right way??
     
  12. vansh

    vansh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    apt-get update in working properly now..
     
  13. Rob

    Rob Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    267
  14. vansh

    vansh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    output from sudo apt-get install csh
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    E: Unable to locate package csh
     
  15. vansh

    vansh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    although sudo apt-get update is working properly but sudo apt-get install csh is not working ..please help.its unable to locate csh
    .
     
  16. arochester

    arochester Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    372
    also run:
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    sudo apt-get dist-uprade
     
  17. Cristal Skull

    Cristal Skull Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    23
    Open Synaptic Package Manager > Settings>Repositories>Debian Software tab and activate DFSG-compatible...Non-DFSG.....Source-code.
    Close Synaptic , rerun apt-get update and apt-get install csh
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2013
  18. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    635
  19. vansh

    vansh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. vansh

    vansh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have installed mmtsb after installing csh and now trying to set the environment for it ..but here again the error comes as follows:
    after using code : setenv MMTSBDIR installation-dir
    output is as follows:

    No command 'setenv' found, did you mean:
    Command 'netenv' from package 'netenv' (universe)
    setenv: command not found

    if any one can help ..please..
     

Share This Page