Choosing a distro for newbie

T

Talon

Hi everyone,

Please, forgive my apparent ignorance; I am totally new to Linux.

A brief history: I am completely disenchanted with Microsoft in
general and Windows in particular, since it (or they) have
crashed 2 of my computers in Win XP. I am not interested
in debating the merits or demerits of Windows or
Microsoft.

As a result I am moving completely away from Windows and
Microsoft and towards Linux. Alas, however, I am utterly
ignorant vis-a-vis Linux, and I need to ask a question
if I may:

(1) Given the foregoing stated lack of competence, which Linux
distribution would be best to utilize, ie, which would offer the
smallest learning curve for now. I have just ordered Linux Mint 11
on DVD from Linux on-disk.com, but I have no qualms about
ordering something else also if this is too advanced for me.

Thanks, in advance, for any suggestions.

You don't have to order disks, you can make them yourself. There's always some type of digital distribution method, direct, torrent, or some unheard-of-yet-brilliant method for downloading.

For Linux Mint, download the iso via http://www.linuxmint.com/download.php

As for the list on the page:
They are all desktop environments; the look and feel (mainly the feel) of the GUI.
->MATE is a GNOME 2 fork. Since a whole lot of people hate GNOME 3 (can be compared to the Metro UI), a GNOME 2 fork was made. GNOME2/MATE gives similar UI like Windows has.
->Never heard of the Cinnamon interface--get someone else to help you with that.
-> KDE is a rich and really customizable interface, and full of eye-candy (I can't say anything else beyond this, sorry).
->XFCE is similar to GNOME 2 in terms of feel, however it's slightly less customizable than GNOME 2. This is a path that GNOME run-away'ers come to.

Since you stated you don't want a learning curve, I recommend to get the MATE or XFCE interface.