Multiple OS's Running?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Adam H., Oct 28, 2013.

  1. Adam H.

    Adam H. New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    So I have a really nice desktop computer that is running Windows 8.1. I want to make it so that when I boot up my computer, it gives me the option of choosing if I want to use Linux or Windows. I only have one hard drive in my desktop, but I am willing to add a SSD or just a regular SATA hard drive. If someone could tell me where I need to start for accomplishing, or just help me at all, that would be great! :)

     
  2. Darren Hale

    Darren Hale Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    217
    Best Answer
  3. Adam H.

    Adam H. New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
  4. Darren Hale

    Darren Hale Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    217
    I hope so I don't actually run Ubuntu so I used Google to search but any way I hope it works for you and enjoy our community.
     
  5. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Dual-booting works well, but be aware that many people have issues when dual-booting with Windows 8. Microsoft made Windows 8 in a very weird way that tries to prevent a Linux installation from existing on the same hardware.
     
    Adam H. likes this.
  6. Adam H.

    Adam H. New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    Oh, ok, good to know.
     
  7. Adam H.

    Adam H. New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks, I hope it works too! ;)
     
  8. rko25118

    rko25118 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    11
    I triple boot Windows 8.1, Netrunner and Linux Mint with no problems. I have each one on a separate HD and boot by pressing "F11" at boot and choose from there. When I installed the OS’s I made sure that the drive I'm installing on is the only one connected to reduce any problems with the boot-up sequence. Hope this helps a little.
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  9. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Clever. I used to multi-boot, but it seems that some systems have OS conflicts or at least bootloader issues.
     
  10. rko25118

    rko25118 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    11
    By going the "F11" route and separate HDs, it does away with the boot loader problems.
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  11. Codypy1

    Codypy1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    33
    With enough experience you'll be able to multi-boot anything. Go forth a learn young grasshopper. :p
     

Share This Page