login error

Discussion in 'General Linux' started by ashienikoi, Aug 23, 2013.

  1. ashienikoi

    ashienikoi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    my session lasted just ten second and because of that am not able to login to the system.

     
  2. arochester

    arochester Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    374
    What distro are you using? Ubuntu?
     
  3. ashienikoi

    ashienikoi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. arochester

    arochester Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    374
    Did it work before and break, or has it never worked?
     
  5. wenkaizhu

    wenkaizhu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Please sure you computer is on,not halt
     
  6. ashienikoi

    ashienikoi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your session only lasted less then
    10 seconds. If you have not logged out
    yourself, this could mean that there is
    some installation problem or that you may
    be out of diskspace. Try logging in with
    one of the failsafe sessions to see if you
    can fix this problem.
     
  7. grim76

    grim76 Active Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    48
    Is this a GUI login, or an ssh login?
     
  8. ashienikoi

    ashienikoi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GUI login
     
  9. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    654
    can you ctrl + alt + F1 and log into a tty? If so, could you post the output from:
    Code:
    df -h
    Code:
    less /var/log/gdm/gdm.log 
     
    Rob likes this.
  10. ashienikoi

    ashienikoi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can not login using the ctrl + alt + F1. i use the failsafe to login.
    i dont have any GUI to do any copy.
    i have messages file in my var/log/messages. i dont have
    /var/log/gdm/gdm.log

    i have found the gdm but my is /var/gdm
    the name of the files are :0.Xauth and :0.Xservers

    i can also login with failsafe and gnome but not my default GUI
     
  11. ashienikoi

    ashienikoi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aug 22 03:13:55 localhost gdm[3129]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 22 03:14:21 localhost gdm[3210]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 22 07:22:11 localhost gdm[3144]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 22 07:34:07 localhost gdm[3145]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 22 07:50:59 localhost gdm[3149]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 22 08:05:22 localhost gdm[3430]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 22 08:06:08 localhost gdm[3530]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 22 10:41:18 localhost gdm[9393]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 22 11:39:48 localhost gdm[3148]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 22 16:10:38 localhost gdm[4812]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 23 21:57:40 localhost gdm[3156]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 26 07:20:49 localhost gdm[3157]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 26 08:42:12 localhost gdm[3917]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 27 14:33:00 localhost gdm[12751]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 27 14:46:26 localhost gdm[12967]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 27 14:46:50 localhost gdm[13033]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 27 15:05:18 localhost gdm[3154]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!
    Aug 27 15:11:27 localhost gdm[3152]: gdm_server_spawn: Could not open logfile for display :0!

    i grep this messages from the /var/log/messages
     
  12. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    654
    Can you give your system specifications also? Especially the graphics card and driver?
     
  13. ashienikoi

    ashienikoi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    what command can i use to get that?
     
  14. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    654
    What type of computer is it? Did you build it yourself? A simple model number will do, for example HP dv6t-7000. But, if you want specifics, you can use
    Code:
    lshw
    as root. It will have to be installed first.
     
  15. ashienikoi

    ashienikoi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    toshiba AMD
     
  16. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    654
    Laptop? Desktop? ATI graphics? Nvidia graphics? This really does make a difference.
     
  17. ashienikoi

    ashienikoi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    laptop ATI graphics
     
  18. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    654
    Okay, so this laptop should have the ATI graphics installed. Which version did you install? Or did you install the graphics drivers at all? You may be using the opensource drivers. This could also be an issue of a broken GNOME.
     
  19. Cristal Skull

    Cristal Skull Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    23
  20. ashienikoi

    ashienikoi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    but i can login with failsafe
    or do i have to install a new distro
     

Share This Page