linux intsalls are a pain in the

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by freemail1, Apr 24, 2014.

1. freemail1

freemail1 Member

there I said it and feel better

2. Yesyesloud

Yesyesloud Active Member

Best Answer
    Depending on the distribution picked, you can have a full, easy GNU/Linux install running even from usb drives.

Try popular ones. One of my least tech-savvy friends managed to dual boot Manjaro alongside Windows 8.1 (a very EFI-jealous system) on her very own (I offered help in case something went wrong... Not requested).

There's a lot of DIY in pure Debian, Arch and Slack, for instance. They're not for newcomers.

For total newbies: Mint, Manjaro, Ubuntu, Fedora, PClinuxOS etc. Anything user-friendly, full of drivers/firmwares and that comes with package management GUIs for dummies, all out of the box.
    ryanvade likes this.
  3. freemail1

freemail1 Member

title was meant to be '...in the a.s'
  4. freemail1

freemail1 Member

linux installs = snail pace, DIY, danger problems ahead, patience required
  5. freemail1

freemail1 Member

any one know of any other linux forums?
    I'm asking cause I'm in the mood to get fustrated some more.
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2014
  6. freemail1

freemail1 Member

6 days waiting for a solution. Where's all the Linux hotshots clamoring to help a newbie?
    All talk no action forum.
  7. Yesyesloud

Yesyesloud Active Member

Best Answer
    Depending on the distribution picked, you can have a full, easy GNU/Linux install running even from usb drives.

Try popular ones. One of my least tech-savvy friends managed to dual boot Manjaro alongside Windows 8.1 (a very EFI-jealous system) on her very own (I offered help in case something went wrong... Not requested).

There's a lot of DIY in pure Debian, Arch and Slack, for instance. They're not for newcomers.