[Help] Merge 2 audio inputs

Discussion in 'Linux Audio / Video' started by BieHDC, Nov 8, 2013.

  1. BieHDC

    BieHDC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hello,
    first i wanna say that i like the tut which are posted :)


    Well my problem,
    I use Teamspeak 3 and i have ALSA and PulseAudio.
    I wanna merge the Microphone and System Sound(VLC Media Player) to have both as input in Teamspeak, so that i can play music to the guys in the server.
    But i tried a lot of settings to do this, but i cant get it work...
    I managed it to put in Microphone OR music, but i cant merge it.
    So if somebody could help me it would be great.
    Thank you.
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  2. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    I am not sure if this will help, but I hope it at least gives you some ideas (https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=147208). Unfortunately, I cannot answer your question well.

    Aloha and welcome to Linux.org! Feel free to ask any questions about Linux here on this site. The main page displays the newest articles/tutorials. If you see a post that you like or found helpful, click "Like". If you ask a question and someone answers it to your satisfaction, click "Best Answer". Enjoy the site!
     
  3. BieHDC

    BieHDC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    This looks like i want it and i will try.
    Maybe i should have said that i use Linux Mint 15 64-Bit :)

    btw: this is a bit off-topic, but somebody of you also have problems with mediabuntu.org repo?
    Well it cant be accessd and bugs my apt-get :S
    My temp way to solve is: sudo rm /var/lib/apt/lists/* -fv
    && sudo apt-get update
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  4. BieHDC

    BieHDC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    update: doesnt worked
     
  5. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    I use the Synaptic package manager, and yes, I cannot access the Mediabuntu PPA.
     
  6. BieHDC

    BieHDC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well any ideas because of not working mixing interfaces?
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  7. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Unfortunately, not. I am sorry that no one here appears to be able to help you.
     
  8. Darren Hale

    Darren Hale Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    217
  9. BieHDC

    BieHDC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3

    Attached Files:

  10. GrumpyOldMan

    GrumpyOldMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    62
    I do this using a set of filters in the alsa configuration.

    What you want is to do is use the dmix plugin for alsa. This way, you can as many sound sources as you wish.

    You're going to look for a file name asound.conf, copy it to your home directory using the name .asoundrc. Alsa will use this file preferentially, and you can monkey with it until you get what you want, then copy it back over asound.conf.

    Beyond that, it depends on the specifics of your system.
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  11. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    654

Share This Page