Filesystem Article Index

Discussion in 'General Computing' started by DevynCJohnson, May 25, 2014.

  1. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    Trophy Points:
    113
    For those of you that like to sit down and read many articles on a particular subject, then this is the post for you. Here, I made an index of various filesystem articles. Enjoy!

    Basics

    Linux File Systems - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-file-systems.4093/

    In Linux, Everything is a File - http://www.linux.org/threads/in-linux-everything-is-a-file.4245/

    Getting around in Linux directories - http://www.linux.org/threads/getting-around-in-linux-directories.4090/

    File Hierarchy Standard (FHS) - http://www.linux.org/threads/file-hierarchy-standard-fhs.5778/

    What are those /dev/ Files? - http://www.linux.org/threads/what-are-those-dev-files.4713/

    Online Resize - http://www.linux.org/threads/online-resize.4229/

    Intro to Inodes - http://www.linux.org/threads/intro-to-inodes.4130/

    Journal File System - http://www.linux.org/threads/journal-file-system.4136/

    Direct I/O - http://www.linux.org/threads/direct-i-o.4230/

    Superblock Mirroring - http://www.linux.org/threads/superblock-mirroring.4125/

    Intro to Extents - http://www.linux.org/threads/intro-to-extents.4131/

    Tail Packing - http://www.linux.org/threads/tail-packing.4128/

    Atomic Disk Quotas - http://www.linux.org/threads/atomic-disk-quotas.4277/

    Intro to Encryption
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/intro-to-encryption.4376/

    Allocation Methods - http://www.linux.org/threads/allocation-methods.4319/

    Trees, B-Trees, B+Trees and H-Trees - http://www.linux.org/threads/trees-b-trees-b-trees-and-h-trees.4278/

    Partition Tables - http://www.linux.org/threads/partition-tables.4895/

    Undelete Files on Linux Systems - http://www.linux.org/threads/undelete-files-on-linux-systems.4316/


    Real filesystems

    Amiga Fast File System (AFFS) -http://www.linux.org/threads/amiga-fast-file-system-affs.4429/

    B Tree File System (BTRFS)
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/b-tree-file-system-btrfs.4430/

    Extent File System (EFS)
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/extent-file-system-efs.4447/

    EXT File System - http://www.linux.org/threads/ext-file-system.4365/

    File Allocation Table (FAT) - http://www.linux.org/threads/file-allocation-table-fat.4472/

    Flash Friendly File System (F2FS) - http://www.linux.org/threads/flash-friendly-file-system-f2fs.4477/

    Hierarchical File System (HFS) - http://www.linux.org/threads/hierarchical-file-system-hfs.4480/

    Hierarchical File System Plus (HFS+) - http://www.linux.org/threads/hierarchical-file-system-plus-hfs.4493/

    High Performance File System (HPFS) - http://www.linux.org/threads/high-performance-file-system-hpfs.4494/


    Journaled File System (JFS) - http://www.linux.org/threads/journaled-file-system-jfs.4404/

    Journaling Flash File System version 2 (JFFS2)
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/journaling-flash-file-system-version-2-jffs2.4495/

    Minix (Mini-UNIX) File System - http://www.linux.org/threads/minix-mini-unix-file-system.4545/

    New Implementation of a Log-structured File System (NILFS) - http://www.linux.org/threads/new-implementation-of-a-log-structured-file-system-nilfs.4547/

    QNX File Systems
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/qnx-file-systems.4577/

    Reiser File System (Reiser3 and Reiser4) - http://www.linux.org/threads/reiser-file-system-reiser3-and-reiser4.4403/

    UNIX File System (UFS) - http://www.linux.org/threads/unix-file-system-ufs.4578/

    XFS File System - http://www.linux.org/threads/xfs-file-system.4364/

    Zettabyte File System (ZFS) - http://www.linux.org/threads/zettabyte-file-system-zfs.4619/

    New Filesystems for Linux - http://www.linux.org/threads/new-filesystems-for-linux.5943/

    Swap - http://www.linux.org/threads/all-about-swap.6470/

    Virtual/Pseudo Filesystems

    Procfs and the Proc Directory - http://www.linux.org/threads/procfs-and-the-proc-directory.4928/

    Sysfs and Configfs - http://www.linux.org/threads/sysfs-and-configfs.4956/

    Specfs, Devfs, Tmpfs, and Others
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/specfs-devfs-tmpfs-and-others.4989/

    PipeFS, SockFS, DebugFS, and SecurityFS - http://www.linux.org/threads/pipefs-sockfs-debugfs-and-securityfs.5383/

    Rarely Mentioned Pseudo-filesystems - http://www.linux.org/threads/rarely-mentioned-pseudo-filesystems.5612/

    More Weird Filesystems - http://www.linux.org/threads/more-weird-filesystems.5854/

    GVFS and Friends - http://www.linux.org/threads/gvfs-and-friends.6175/


    FUSE Filesystems

    FUSE - http://www.linux.org/threads/fuse.6211/

    Overview of FUSE Filesystems - http://www.linux.org/threads/overview-of-fuse-filesystems.6252/


    Commands

    Find Open Files - http://www.linux.org/threads/find-open-files-in-linux.6367/

    cp - http://www.linux.org/threads/the-cp-command.4099/

    mv - http://www.linux.org/threads/the-mv-command.4100/

    rm - http://www.linux.org/threads/the-rm-command.4098/

    mkdir & rmdir - http://www.linux.org/threads/the-mkdir-and-rmdir-commands.4097/

    chown - http://www.linux.org/threads/file-permisions-chown.4095/

    chmod - http://www.linux.org/threads/command-chmod.161/

    du - http://www.linux.org/threads/command-du.278/



    More Guides - http://www.linux.org/threads/reading-guides-indexes.6034/
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2014
    spin89 and rstanley like this.
  2. rstanley

    rstanley Active Member

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Looks like a great collection! Look forward to viewing the articles!

    Cheers!
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  3. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I plan to make more reading guides and indexes for other subjects. I think such guides help people learn Linux better and make navigating the forum easier.
    rstanley and spin89 like this.
  4. spin89

    spin89 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    It's great to have a lot of articles on a subject on one location. It saves a lot of searching time. TY
    rstanley and DevynCJohnson like this.

Share This Page