Booting Debian from an external drive

T

tufa91

Hi, i have 2 problems:
1. I just finished installing debian in an external usb drive, and is working just fine (have both windows and Debian). But the thing is that i installed GRUB and now i can only initialize my system when the usb is connected; otherwise it wont go (it gets stuck in the black screen with "GRUB rescue"). What can i do if i want my pc to automatically run windows when my usb harddrive isnt connected?
2. How do i configure my internet connection in Debian? I have a wifi network, but dont know how to make Debian recognize it and get connected.
As you probably see, im not a real programmer: just trying a new o.s. to see how it works. Any comments would be appreciated!

1. I have never done exactly as you are describing; however, if I am understanding your situation correctly, I think you can just restore the Widnows boot loader on the hard drive. Grub will still be on the external drive (unplug it first just to be safe). Then, set your BIOS/CMOS settings to boot from USB before the hard drive. If this works as I believe it will, when no external drive is present, Windows will boot normally. When an external drive is present, Grub should boot instead from the external drive.

To fix the MBR, there are a few different ways. Which version of Windows are you using? Also, do you have a disk for Windows?