Does Linux play with Ebay?

Discussion in 'General Linux' started by Videodrome, Nov 22, 2013.

  1. Videodrome

    Videodrome Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    132
    I've been helping out a small business owner streamline his network and he wants to expand online sales. One of his employees complains about using Linux and said that it has a problem with Ebay.

    Apparently, Ebay really does lack Linux Support in some areas. I'm wondering if anyone else has dealt with this. Is it Linux in general, or is Ebay just picky about the Web Browser?

    Otherwise, I have overhauled 2 badly corrupted Windows machines and put Crunchbang Linux on them with the owner's approval. He does appreciate the improved web performances and being free of viruses.

     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  2. T Brownen

    T Brownen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello Videodrome
    I congratulate your efforts to spread the Linux word.
    I have used Linux and Ebay for over 10 years with no problem.
    The Employees could help help them selves by giving examples, there could be a problem but without a description little can be done.
    I suspect said employees should be Ex employees, as they appear not to have the will to better them selves or their employer.
    Could be wrong !
    Trev
     
  3. Videodrome

    Videodrome Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    132
    Well.... I just got an email from them saying they have an unspecified Ebay related problem when using the Linux computer I set up. After Googling, there does seem to be common issues relating to Linux and Ebay.

    Or maybe it is how Browsers are typically configured on Linux. Some comments I've read make it sound like this could be Java related. It has to do with loading pictures into a new Ebay listing.

    In the meantime, I suggested trying to upload pictures to Photobucket and then add those images to the Ebay listing.
     
  4. arochester

    arochester Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    380
    Could we maybe look at this another way around?

    Instead of asking if Linux it has a problem with Ebay. Could you maybe tell us exactly where and what is the problem that is being experienced?
     
  5. Videodrome

    Videodrome Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    132
    My understanding is that they are having trouble uploading pictures to Ebay when they create a new listing. I just wondered if anyone else has had a similar experience.

    Wish I could be more specific. I'm actually in my college class reading the description of their problem from an email.
     
    tuttle likes this.
  6. arochester

    arochester Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    380
    Does Ebay give any kind of error message?

    One problem seems to be that pictures with the extension .JPG don't work because of case-sensitivity - but .jpg does work...
     
  7. Videodrome

    Videodrome Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    132
    I emailed them back asking for more specifics and haven't heard back yet.

    o_O
     
  8. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    659
    Well, the fact that Ubuntu 14.04 (dev) has Ebay as a search option leads me to think Ebay has no problems with Linux.
     
    Cyber-Berserker likes this.
  9. Videodrome

    Videodrome Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    132
    Thanks for the feedback. I'll wait to hear more from them if they need help.
     
  10. lobo

    lobo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    76
    The website, and ebay is no exception, interacts with the browser and plugins, not the OS. So if there is a problem, it's with the browser, plugins or configuration of these.

    From memory - I seem to remember someone I know having problems with the picture uploader when using a certain browser. This would be javascript related, not java related.

    You should try the three main browsers - chromium, firefox and opera 12.x and see which are affected...
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  11. Rob

    Rob Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    271
    I know i've had issues uploading pictures (the issue is that you can't) with chrome... but it works fine if you use firefox.
     
  12. Videodrome

    Videodrome Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    132
    Could there be a difference with Iceweasel? It's basically the same thing right?
     
  13. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    659
    I think there is a slight difference. Like Chrome vs Chromium. Slight difference.
     
  14. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    Ebay and Linux do not need to be compatible. The web-browser must be compatible. Firefox, Google Chrome, and Chromium support Ebay without issues.
     
  15. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    The developers of Opera have dropped support for Linux. Opera 12.x is old.
     
  16. lobo

    lobo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    76
    Well Opera 12.x is is still supported (for now) and it's worth installing to check if it has the same problem with ebay.

    As Opera 15 is only repackaged and rebranded chromium - there wouldn't be much point in installing it even if it were available for *nix.
     
  17. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    Opera 15 is not rebranded as Chromium.
     
  18. Cyber-Berserker

    Cyber-Berserker Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    142
    I know I am being technical, but he did not state Opera is re-branded as Chromium, but rather is re-branded Chromium. (I could not resist.:()
     
  19. lobo

    lobo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    76
    You're completely correct, but that's not what I said...

    Opera 15 is [just a] repackaged and rebranded chromium. It's not Opera or the presto engine, it's just chromium with Opera's branding and some other bells and whistles.

    Opera went from being a distinct and relevant browser with a loyal following, to an irrelevant one.
     
  20. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    659
    Where is this Opera 15 available for download? I just have to try it.
     

Share This Page