Debian not booting from CD

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by gordontate, Apr 7, 2013.

1. gordontate

gordontate New Member

I am new to Linux so please bear with me. I burned a (small) CD from which to boot a Debian O/S and altered the BIOS to select the DVD/CD for start up. Each time I tried, however, my laptop (a Compaq Presario CQ56 ) booted up Windows 7. The ISO file I downloaded and burned to disk was amd64 as the laptop runs on an amd 64bit processor. Could anyone suggest what might be the problem? I should explain that I wish to try a Linux O/S out of interest at this time and I am not too keen on having two operating systems on the hard disk until I have had experience with Linux. Thank you.

2. arochester

arochester Well-Known Member

What Debian version did you download and from where? Many of the Debian versions are for install and are not LiveCDs.

Do you know that it was a good burn? A common mistake among noobies is to simply copy the ISO to the CD. No, burning an iso is a special operation to create a bootable Linux disk. Look at the CD through Windows 7. Does it have many files or just a few?

A good guide to burning an ISO is here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BurningIsoHowto
  3. mickeyliv

mickeyliv New Member

yeah I remember making that boo boo once.. I know you have to use power iso, or that's what I used to burn the iso file on the disc.. good luck!!
  4. gordontate

gordontate New Member