Custom Desktop and X11

Discussion in 'Desktop / X' started by bashcommando, Apr 4, 2014.

  1. bashcommando

    bashcommando Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    49
    I programmed my own desktop in shell script and finally I was ready to run it. All my files are located at /frost/. Then I modify /etc/sysconf/windowmanager and replace startxfwm4 with /frost/run.sh. Then when I run it nothing happens and it goes to the X11 failsafe which is a annoying login shell. Ideas?

     
  2. bashcommando

    bashcommando Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    49
    Best Answer
    I figured it out myself. I turned the shell script into a executable binary and put it in the /bin/ directory. Then I just called it like a command.
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  3. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,844
    Likes Received:
    641
    how about the startx command instead of startxfwm4?
     
  4. bashcommando

    bashcommando Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    49
    X is already started and I replaced startxfwm4 with /frost/run.sh, so with all the system folders and stuff there is a folder called frost with a shell script called run.sh. However it won't run the shell script.
     
  5. bashcommando

    bashcommando Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    49
    Best Answer
    I figured it out myself. I turned the shell script into a executable binary and put it in the /bin/ directory. Then I just called it like a command.
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  6. bashcommando

    bashcommando Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    49

Share This Page