Cryptography Reading Guide

Discussion in 'General Computing' started by DevynCJohnson, Jul 1, 2014.

  1. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    983
    Trophy Points:
    113
    For those of you that like to sit down and read many articles on a particular subject, then this is the post for you. Here, I made an index of various articles on cryptography and related topics (encryption, SSH, LXC containers, and such). Enjoy!


    Concepts

    Intro to Encryption - http://www.linux.org/threads/intro-to-encryption.4376/

    Intro to Linux Containers - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-containers-part-1-the-intro.4379/

    Premier of Two-Factor Authentication - http://www.linux.org/threads/premier-of-two-factor-authentication.4624/

    Secure Password Collisions - http://www.linux.org/threads/secure-password-collisions.4886/


    How-to

    Set up SSH Keys - http://www.linux.org/threads/set-up-ssh-keys.4211/

    How to Force ssh login via Public Key Authentication - http://www.linux.org/threads/how-to-force-ssh-login-via-public-key-authentication.4253/

    Terminating a Hung SSH Session - http://www.linux.org/threads/terminating-a-hung-ssh-session.5227/

    Secure Web Browsing Using Proxy SOCKS - http://www.linux.org/threads/secure-web-browsing-using-proxy-socks.2348/

    SSH ACL: Allowing users and groups - http://www.linux.org/threads/ssh-acl-allowing-users-and-groups.4782/

    Encrypted Containers Without TrueCrypt - http://www.linux.org/threads/encrypted-containers-without-truecrypt.4478/

    Creating, Stopping, and Connecting LXC Containers - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-containers-part-2-creating-stopping-and-connecting.4399/

    Creating Your Own VPN
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-containers-part-5-creating-your-own-vpn.4431/

    Additional VPN Security - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-containers-part-6-additional-vpn-security.4459/
    Enable LDAP Authentication in Blesta - http://www.linux.org/threads/enable-ldap-authentication-in-blesta.5341/

    SSH Tricks: Working with a Config
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/ssh-tricks-working-with-a-config.4975/

    How to set up SHA-3 hashing for my passwords? - http://www.linux.org/threads/how-to-set-up-sha-3-hashing-for-my-passwords.6086/

    Upload files with ssh / scp in Linux - http://www.linux.org/threads/upload-files-with-ssh-scp-in-linux.639/

    DMZ Without the Risk - Part 1: Setting Up OpenVPN - http://www.linux.org/threads/dmz-without-the-risk-part-1-setting-up-openvpn.4820/

    DMZ Without the Risk - Part 2: Setting Up the Client
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/dmz-without-the-risk-part-2-setting-up-the-client.4821/

    DMZ Without the Risk - Part 3: Putting Everything Together - http://www.linux.org/threads/dmz-without-the-risk-part-3-putting-everything-together.4822/

    Creating a Self-Signed Certificate With Python - http://www.linux.org/threads/creating-a-self-signed-certificate-with-python.4591/

    Improving a Tor Relay - http://www.linux.org/threads/improving-a-tor-relay.4625/


    Tools/Protocols

    SSH: The VPN No One Remembers - http://www.linux.org/threads/ssh-the-vpn-no-one-remembers.4176/

    OpenSSH - http://www.linux.org/threads/openssh.4162/

    Mosh - The SSH Replacement That Can - http://www.linux.org/threads/mosh-the-ssh-replacement-that-can.6041/

    FreeOTP - http://www.linux.org/threads/move-over-google-authenticator-freeotp-is-here.6047/

    HTTP and HTTPS Routing (+nginx) - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-containers-part-7-http-and-https-routing.4544/

    Linux Containers: Tools of the Trade (LXC Userspace) - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-containers-part-3-tools-of-the-trade.4402/


    Fabric - http://www.linux.org/threads/remote-commands-via-fabric-part-1-hello-linux-org.4685/

    Tor: Part 1 - Is it for me? - http://www.linux.org/threads/tor-part-1-is-it-for-me.4532/

    Tor: Part 2 - Installing and Using - http://www.linux.org/threads/tor-part-2-installing-and-using.4533/

    Tor: Part 3 - Becoming An Onion - http://www.linux.org/threads/tor-part-3-becoming-an-onion.4543/

    pam_unix.so Is Your Security Friend - http://www.linux.org/threads/pam_unix-so-is-your-security-friend.4650/

    Set Up Mutt for TLS SMTP - http://www.linux.org/threads/set-up-mutt-for-tls-smtp.5989/

    RHEL6 volume encryption using LUKS
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/rhel6-volume-encryption-using-luks.4219/

    Google Authenticator For SSH - http://www.linux.org/threads/google-authenticator-for-ssh.4590/




    More Guides - http://www.linux.org/threads/reading-guides-indexes.6034/
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2014
    rstanley and ryanvade like this.
  2. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    389
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ah encryption. Wonderful stuff.
    RIP truecrypt. :(

    Thanks for the links @DevynCJohnson
    DevynCJohnson likes this.

Share This Page