chroot

Discussion in 'Command Line' started by ZZs, Jan 27, 2014.

  1. ZZs

    ZZs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    62
    So I chroot to / instead of /bin/bash or /bin/sh today on a new install. I was wondering if I should change this or not?

     
  2. grim76

    grim76 Active Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    48
    Your description of your issue is not really clear. Can you provide us with more details?
     
  3. ZZs

    ZZs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    62
    Sorry is was late. The question probably should read:

    When you/I chroot into a newly installed system I left out the /bin/bash in the line command line (chroot /mnt , not chroot /mnt /bin/bash).

    I wanted to know the impact this could lead to.
     
  4. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    655
    you may or may not be using bash when not including the specific shell.
     
  5. ZZs

    ZZs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    62
    The install docs said by omitting the /bin/bash It would default to the sh shell. What would be the default if I installed a plug in play OS like Ubuntu? Should it be /bin/bash?
    OS is Arch Linux latest.
     
  6. ZZs

    ZZs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    62
    The operating system is installed to the point of running xwindows. I just wanted to know if I should change that before moving forward.
     
  7. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    655
    Are you using chroot or arch-chroot during the Arch install?

    when logged into your user account, type the following into a terminal to find the Shell you are using:
    Code:
    echo $SHELL
     
  8. ZZs

    ZZs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    62
    Yes I arch-chroot and the output of "echo $SHELL" = /bin/bash.
    I guess that's the norm??
     
    ryanvade likes this.
  9. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    655
    It is yes. /bin/bash is the default for almost all distributions.
     

Share This Page