Backtrack 5 not loading

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by zenbaltin, Sep 20, 2013.

  1. zenbaltin

    zenbaltin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been using BT5 for a few months now. Some training at Akron U. Everything was going cool. All at once I can get into basic startup, but the stalls out- a bunch of text comes up, says"cant reset HCD device. And "Maybe USB cable is bad" I cant type text, even startx. I dont have a usb cable, its going into a usb port. I have checked usb ports in device mgr. updated drivers. I am running win7 on main OS. Ibuilt this comp. and everything is state-of-the-art as far as about 6 months ago. It was working fine, I was working on security testing and penetration tools (as part of my class at AU) Everything else is OK in WIN environment. Its not a dual boot or virtual machine, I'm going into BIOS and changing boot priority.

     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  2. arochester

    arochester Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    374
  3. zenbaltin

    zenbaltin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    gigabyteGA-Z68x-UD3H-B3, Intel I5 processor. I do have USB 3 ports, thought I tried them. Could try again. Thanx so much for reply, Forum now says my password is wrong or something.
     
  4. zenbaltin

    zenbaltin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Also, huge-cannot access BIOS to change boot sequence, (delete key) or F12 for start-up menu. BIOS is recognized in "programs and features" thought about changing settings there as I did system restore recently. Scary.
     
  5. Karl

    Karl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have a similar board, with similar issues. I found it has something to do with 64bit drivers. once I went 32bit everything worked. might try that
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  6. zenbaltin

    zenbaltin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    goodthought. What drivers? For the board?
     
  7. flunwyc

    flunwyc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    61
    Stabbing in the dark until you tell people what kernel you're running.
    Code:
    $ uname -a
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  8. Karl

    Karl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    6
    the drivers I had issues with were usb 3 and the network card for sure. I found by trial and error that I could only use 2 of my usb 2 ports. Nothing I did could get the network card working. I'm pretty sure there were more problems with divers for that board but network and usb for sure. 32bit sees everything ok
     

Share This Page