apt-get

Discussion in 'Ubuntu' started by ciscosystem_mhr, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. ciscosystem_mhr

    ciscosystem_mhr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello guy
    i removed a package on ubuntu suddenly i realized i don't have apt-get command anymore how can i install apt package again ?
    thanks

     
  2. arochester

    arochester Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    372
    What package did you remove. What does it say when you try to use apt-get?
     
  3. ciscosystem_mhr

    ciscosystem_mhr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    libstdc++6 it doesn't recognize apt-get any more i tried to install libstdc++6 again but too much dependencies i just confused
     
  4. arochester

    arochester Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    372
    Do you have the Install Disk?

    You could make the Install Disk a Repository and re-install apt using dpkg

    "Using dpkg to install packages

    dpkg is a command-line tool used to install packages. To install a package with dpkg, open a Terminal and type the following:


    cd directory
    sudo dpkg -i package_name.deb
    Note: replace directory with the directory in which the package is stored and package_name with the filename of the package.

    It is recommended that you read the dpkg manual page before using dpkg, as improper use may break the package management database. To view the manual page for dpkg, open a Terminal and type man dpkg." - https://help.ubuntu.com/community/InstallingSoftware
     
    Falcao, ryanvade and Jan Mroczkowski like this.
  5. Jan Mroczkowski

    Jan Mroczkowski New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    or should you satisfy any dependency and install every package separately
     
  6. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    635
    if you have aptitude installed it can be used instead.
    for example:
    Code:
    aptitude install apt
     

Share This Page