A Newbie's Guide to the Linux System

Discussion in 'General Computing' started by DevynCJohnson, Jun 11, 2014.

  1. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    Trophy Points:
    113
    For those of you that like to sit down and read many articles on a particular subject, then this is the post for you. Here, I made an index of various articles for newbies. Enjoy!


    Basic

    What is Linux - http://www.linux.org/threads/what-is-linux.4076/

    Yin, Yang, Tux - http://www.linux.org/threads/yin-yang-tux.5240/

    In Linux, Everything is a File - http://www.linux.org/threads/in-linux-everything-is-a-file.4245/

    Linux Filesystems - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-file-systems.4093/

    Man Pages & Useful Info - http://www.linux.org/threads/man-pages-useful-information.4092/

    Day to Day with Linux - http://www.linux.org/threads/day-to-day-with-linux.4091/

    Getting around in Linux directories - http://www.linux.org/threads/getting-around-in-linux-directories.4090/

    Text Editors - http://www.linux.org/threads/text-editors.4104/

    Selecting A Linux Distribution - http://www.linux.org/threads/selecting-a-linux-distribution.4087/

    When to work as root & When to Work as a System User - http://www.linux.org/threads/when-to-work-as-root-when-to-work-as-a-system-user.4106/

    Cool Shortcuts - http://www.linux.org/threads/cool-shortcuts.4103/

    Tips for the Fresh-born Linux Newbie
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/tips-for-the-fresh-born-linux-newbie.5613/

    Linux Desktop Shells - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-desktop-shells.6002/

    About the Distros - http://www.linux.org/threads/about-the-distros.4680/

    Linux on Your Smartphone
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-on-your-smartphone-and-tablet.6137/

    Which Distro is Right for Me? - http://www.linux.org/threads/which-distro-is-right-for-me.4834/

    Which Firewall Distro is Right for Me? - http://www.linux.org/threads/which-firewall-distro-is-right-for-me.5209/



    Graphical User Interface (GUI)

    Guide - http://www.linux.org/threads/gui-reading-guide.6471/


    Package Management

    Guide - http://www.linux.org/threads/package-management-reading-guide.6435/


    Intermediate

    Logs - http://www.linux.org/threads/logs.6174/

    File Hierarchy Standard (FHS) - http://www.linux.org/threads/file-hierarchy-standard-fhs.5778/

    What are those /dev/ Files?
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/what-are-those-dev-files.4713/

    Linux Bootloaders - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-bootloaders.4489/

    Malware and Antivirus Systems for Linux
    - http://www.linux.org/threads/malware-and-antivirus-systems-for-linux.4455/

    Kill Command and Signals - http://www.linux.org/threads/kill-commands-and-signals.4423/

    Contributing to OSS - http://www.linux.org/threads/contributing-to-oss.4712/

    Swap - http://www.linux.org/threads/all-about-swap.6470/


    Advanced

    Users on a System - http://www.linux.org/threads/users-on-a-system.4221/

    Webservers - http://www.linux.org/threads/webservers.4225/

    The Different Types of Filesystems - http://www.linux.org/threads/the-different-types-of-filesystems.5999/

    The Linux Kernel: Intro - http://www.linux.org/threads/the-linux-kernel-introduction.4203/

    Rescatux - http://www.linux.org/threads/rescatux.5978/

    Init and its Alternatives - http://www.linux.org/threads/init-and-its-alternatives.4876/

    Vbox Intro - http://www.linux.org/threads/an-introduction-to-oracles-virtual-box-vbox.5018/

    Linux Standard Base (LSB) - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-standard-base-lsb.5113/

    Types of Executables - http://www.linux.org/threads/types-of-executables.4792/

    Linux Network Stack - http://www.linux.org/threads/linux-network-stack.4620/

    OSI Model - http://www.linux.org/threads/open-systems-interconnect-osi-model.4655/


    To further your knowledge in Linux, I invite you to go here for more guides - http://www.linux.org/threads/reading-guides-indexes.6034/
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2014
    Mitt Green likes this.
  2. Mitt Green

    Mitt Green Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Selecting a Linux Distribution (actually not only Linux). We can search by GUI, OS family, discontinued projects and many other things
    http://distrowatch.com/
    DevynCJohnson likes this.

Share This Page