64 or 32 bit?

Discussion in 'General Linux' started by Michael Hobson, Apr 8, 2014.

  1. Michael Hobson

    Michael Hobson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,

    I aminterested in trying Linux Mint. I have a 64 bit AMD desktop with 500gb but last time it crashed I could only find a 32 bit XP OS disk to reload which it is still running on. If I want to load Mint to try, should I try the 32 or 64 bit version?

    Thanks,

    Michael

     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  2. arochester

    arochester Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    380
  3. Michael Hobson

    Michael Hobson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Succinct

    Thanks
     
  4. rko25118

    rko25118 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    13
    Another vote for 64 bit.
     
  5. bashcommando

    bashcommando Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    49
  6. DevynCJohnson

    DevynCJohnson Well-Known Member Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    1,285
    64-bit.

    If you have problems again, then try a different Linux distro - Ubuntu ;)
     
  7. pane-free

    pane-free Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    84
    How old is the AMD cpu?
    When in doubt, I go with 32-bit, especially on older machines.
    Also, how much RAM is installed?

    If an older machine and wanting to use any 'buntu-based distro, go with the LTS version, as a suggestion. With Mint, this is "Maya."
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  8. Yesyesloud

    Yesyesloud Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    180
    Manjaro is faster than Mint but as user-friendly :p
     
    DevynCJohnson likes this.
  9. MikeyD

    MikeyD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    120
    64-bit, and really shouldn't be using 32-bit if you want to get the most out of your computer.
    The "bit precision" I guess of your PC is really based on the motherboard, memory, CPU, and software of your PC (there are also still benefits of 64bit vs 32bit computing with PCs running 4GBs memory, and you cannot properly use more than 4GB of memory without a 64-bit processor and accompanying hardware. So if you have more than 4GB memory and you're running 32-bit software it won't be accessible to running software, and pretty much worthless.) You need hardware to take advantage of the larger values, memory addresses, and datapaths of 64 bits, so if you do you might as well use 64-bit software to take advantage of the storage and performance improvements when possible.
     
    bashcommando likes this.
  10. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    659
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension
     
  11. MikeyD

    MikeyD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    120
    True, but PAE has to do with the chipset, and doesn't carry over to 32-bit software (at least not as well). Under Design:

    Luckily, I believe most Linux versions use PAE kernels by default, but this will generally improve memory addressing of the overall system, but not for individual programs/processes.
    I'm also not sure if PAE fully uses the increased number/size of processor registers that a 64-bit CPU has over its 32-bit counterpart, but I don't think so, which means you're still not getting the most out of your CPU.
     
  12. ryanvade

    ryanvade Administrator Staff Member Staff Writer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    659
  13. MikeyD

    MikeyD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    120
    Haha well I did forget about PAE so good call.
     

Share This Page